We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy & Authentic”
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy & Authentic”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Go for the buffet! It's amazingly delicious (yuca!) and great for tourists because you can see what you're choosing. We HIGHLY recommend the mango shake con leche :) On our 4 days in La Fortuna, we came here 3+ times. Great price, great food, no need to look anywhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,146
    511
    139
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great soda! Lots of food for a good price.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I wanted to eat lunch somewhere the local would go. This place was authentic as they come. The women working at the time were very nice and patient with our failed attempt at Spanish. lol.They had a lunch special, a cassado dish for 2800 colones. ($5.60 American) This is their "typical" meal. We got rice, beans, our choice of meat, 2 types of salad (from about 6 different choices) and 3 sides (from about 8 different choices.) We could have easily shared one plate but didn't know better, so we just ate til we were about to bust. The fresh mango juice was amazing as well and so was the rice pudding dessert. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilPLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Tico cuisine”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great soda that has warm hospitality and great food! Menu was varied and the place was very clean! Not too expensive and they even had a wonderful surprise after our meal, a small serving of rice pudding made with coconut! Loved it!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank brownize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Good, Very Authentic!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We enjoyed Soda Visquez while we visited Costa Rica. The food seemed to be very authentic and was quite tasty. There was quite an assortment that was provided so it was neat to try different Costa Rican foods. The atmosphere and seating were enjoyable. We would highly recommend Soda Visquez!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Soda!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited Soda Visquez when we were in La Fortuna in April for our honeymoon. We had lunch there once and have been craving it ever since. The Arroz con pollo was fantastic... As was the fish casado. The owner was very nice, friendly and appreciative of our visit. It's conveniently located in La Fortuna and fairly easy to find. I would DEFINITELY recommend going. We'll be returning on our next visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommydphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing