We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our driver told us about Nene's so we visited for lunch. It was great food, cheap prices and great service. My husband said it was the best burger he had in Costa Rica (and he had a LOT of burgers).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    370
    175
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was located in a somewhat quiet part of La Fortuna but not too far away from the main street. The food was amazing, I had chicken with a Portuguese sauce which I thought was alright but after stealing a few bites from my sister's seafood rice, I went to heaven. The food is fresh, delicious, and reasonably priced. There are a variety of dishes from cultural backgrounds other than the traditional Costa Rican dishes, which really allows you to switch things up and try their take on other cultures' dishes. My other sister had pesto pasta, which had a twist to it, and not a bad twist either. The service was also excellent, our waiter could speak bilingually and he was very, very polite. The restaurant is very clean and has a relaxing setting for you to enjoy a nice meal. Visit Nene's if you're in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best ceviche anywhere!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a recent trip to Central and South America, my husband and I went to La Fortuna do do some shopping. The weather was very hot and humid. Nene's Restaurant had been recommended to us - especially the ceviche. So we went for a nice cold cerveza to help cool off and decided to have a snack. My husband had the soup and declared it delicious (I know - who eats soup on a sweltering hot day?). I had the ceviche. It was amazing! I just kept saying "This is the best ceviche I have ever eaten!" Honestly, I nearly licked the dish. Just sorry we weren't able to go back for a full meal. Service with a smile. It was a fun place. I hope to go back some day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TX341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you go to La Fortuna you must eat at this restaurant. It is your typical Costa Rican restaurant with really good Costa Rican food. The service is great and the waiters are amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ticomex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome local place”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recommended by our taxi driver, we went here while visiting la fortuna and we were so glad we found it! As others have said, the ceviche is amazing and my wife and I had the jalapeño steak and the seafood rice. Everything was delicious and very reasonably priced. We got the ceviche, steak, mixed seafood rice (which had crab, fish, shrimp and clams) and 4 half pitchers of imperial (costa rican beer) for 41 USD. Anyone in la fortuna should try and make it there you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing