We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple, lovely and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Calle 5, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9192
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, lovely and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friendly service, good food that everybody in the family enjoyed, nice ambiance, very very good ceviche, in an un-presumptuous local.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue_from_Boulder_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    279
    122
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This resturant was horrible from start to finish. When we walked in I said hola and the waiter started speaking English. From here he told told the "specials" which we were told are offered everynight. We continued to ask what the waiter recomeneded and of course he recommended the most expensive things on the menu. Overall this resturant was horrible and I would not recomend it to my worst enemy. This was definty the worst waste of 67 dollars of my life!! Don't fall into all the recomendations don't go here!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WORST food in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is definitely a tourist trap!! Im shocked at how many good reviews they've received. Probably typical poor diets that people are used to and dont realize that they eat cheap processed garbage. WE on the other hand like REAL and FRESH food.

When we got here we were a little weary. The menu did not reflect local cuisine. It was like being at the outback. Salads, steaks, fish, etc.
We thought ok maybe it will come out Costa Rican style.
One of us ordered the fish special, and our other dish was a steak. Oh and ceviche to start with.
They brought the ceviche out quickly, and it was OK. Not impressive but not terrible.
Then they brought the dishes. My fish and veggies were wrapped in foil and glowing with fire it was really cool. I opened it up and knew right away it wasn't for me, but gave it a shot. It was Tilapia, stuffed with cheese. I've never seen cheese like this. It was so much like rubber that it didn't melted. Orange shredded out of a bag cheese.. I took two bites (which I had to force down.) The veggies surrounding the fish were crinkle cut faded veggies that clearly were poured out of a bag. I cant even describe the combination of flavors that I was experiencing. I couldn't eat it.
Franco got the steak, it was about a 1/4 inch thick with the same crappy vegetables. In his words "I wouldn't even feed this to my dog" as well as "I could probably get a better steak at ihop"
Now maybe we made some poor choices in our selections, but I cant even believe food like is is being served! I saw a few other people getting the fish special, so I cant be that wrong in selecting it!

And YES the server was god awful, when I told him I wanted to switch to sparkling water instead of flat BEFORE he even brought it, he just said "nooo, noooo.. no sorry," instead of trying to understand what I was saying. He would drop stuff off and walk away without ever checking.

This was the most regrettable $65 EVER spent. Stay FAR away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lan-Donia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As we were driving to this location I was not sure where we were going as it is down a back street. We arrived and it was a lovely little place, parking for about 6 cars ! My 11 year old daughter commented on the rose that was made from the carrot as she had not seen that before. The waiter said in broken English "come with me". He took her into the kitchen and she was gone for almost half an hour ! She came back and had met all the kitchen staff and watched them make the food as well as made her own carrot flower. This is just something that would never happen in the U.S. Just a wonderful evening of food and laughs about our day. Highly suggest a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ceviche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely out of the way place with a great bar and the BEST ceviche!
Luis and Henri were very friendly and ambiance was great here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sintzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing