We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit hidden but very nice restaurant”
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a little bit hidden but very nice restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The steak was realy great and tasty, also the fisch was very nice too. It's the best restaurant of La Fortona Arenal

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    363
    171
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

this place is just an average place down an alley. the staff seem to be a little placid, uninterested, and somewhat dull. the food is okay, nothing to complain about but not much to rave about. we usually eat here at least once when we stay for an extended period of time in la fortuna.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank diego s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
1 review
“Bad local rec”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Well where to start...we didn't think the sea bass or filet were that. The margheritas, while different from what we are used to in the states, were great... but that's about it.
Locals recommended it but we were very dissapointed with the food and the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meant2BaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, but not the nicest place!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I got to that restaurant because of a recommendation of friend who leaves at La Fortuna. It is a little difficult to find, but ask any local for it. It has a parking lot (good thing because this area is insecure). The service is excellent. They really serve you fast. The food is great!!! and for a great value. The place may not look very nice, but it is a great recommendation. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GabyI1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food tucked away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ended up looking for this restaurant after two different La Fortuna residents recommended it. We weren't disappointed. The Cerviche the produced was outstanding. It was by far my favourite in Costa Rica and Panama. I had a special of BBQ ribs that was humongous. Its not the cheapest joint in town but I think they produce some lovely food here and the service was relaxed but timely. Would of visited again if it hadn't been our last night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing