We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Bees, TGIF, and Ruby Tuesdays has better Latin food than this place”

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Apple Bees, TGIF, and Ruby Tuesdays has better Latin food than this place”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I could not believe how average this place was. The guacamole was subpar. The wings were too big and after the first bite you couldn't even taste the sauce. Felt like I was eating a chicken breast.


At that point we knew the rest of dinner would be average so just headed to local joint, which was 100x better.

If you miss your burgers, fries and pizza then come here. However if you miss that kind of food why are you in Costa Rica.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ifthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    645
    380
    126
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dylangmurphy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stopped for a quick drink, stayed the whole evening”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick drink while figuring out the lie of the land in La Fortuna, ended up staying for dinner and many drinks.

The food is mostly mexican themed, simple and good quality - a nice break from mundane Costa Rican cuisine.

Lava Lounge is probably the best bar in La Fortuna, it has a really good atmosphere, good food and drinks. Recommend the mojito (long on lime and rum) and the crazy monkey (probably best as a dessert, quite heavy)

I think there's live music on Wednesdays and Sundays but we weren't there for this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dylangmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but a little expensive”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good food and good sangria, nice place to sit and relax and talk to friends. A little bit expensive, but hey, it's Costa Rica, everything is expensive...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I ventured in one evening for dinner. We just left another establishment for high prices and lack of "character" to sum it up. We didn't feel like spending 5 star hotel prices for mediocre food - especially after eating at the other places during our vacation that blew our minds away at fractions of the cost. We walked in Lava Lounge because we liked the atmosphere and grew tired of searching for a new place to eat. Unfortunately we weren't impressed and only ordered out of exhaustion.

The menu was simple and limited. I was impressed with the frozen drink menu but the prices were the same as our hotel's ($7 avg). Unless you wanted fajitas or arroz y pollo - you were out of luck for a local dish. The prices were similar to a traditional U.S. bar menu more so than a restaurant.

We shared nachos, I had beef/chicken fajitas, she had a chicken sandwich. We both had a frozen drink, mine being a dirty monkey (I believe - coconut rum, banana liquor, and coffee liquor) which was too strong for my liking. We also split a brownie a la mode (basic ice cream on a basic brownie). All of which ran us around $75. Compared to $30-$40 at other restaurants for better portions and menu options, we should've went to a finer dining establishment (Don Rufinos or similar) for that much money or stayed at our hotel.

To help clarify, we're not cheap nor picky. We chose Lava Lounge based on a few of the reviews, the atmosphere, and location. We simply weren't impressed and felt disappointed. I do hope others enjoy what they have to offer - just not our cup o' tea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bar scene”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is okay for young couples or singles. Not recommended for families. The food is very average and service is slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nshihata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing