We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gluten free review”

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gluten free review”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff here was very helpful with trying to accommodate my gluten allergy. The waiter spoke with the cook about it and I had the arroz con pollo. The food was pretty good but I did still get a little bit sick, probably cross contamination. I would still recommend it though and appreciated the staff's help! The place is cute and has good atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    633
    369
    120
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really solid place”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We tried out several places in town (at my insistence), even though this was our first and great. To me, when you're in a new town, you want to experience new things, including food, etc. Granted, most food here is very Americano. Yet, still good, decent prices, and great atmosphere and service. After some other haphazard meals from elsewhere, actually wished we had eaten here just a little more!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher_dicicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice chilled atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of the few bars we found open in La Fortuna. We enjoyed the live music/chilled reggae and ended up ordering from their limited menu on our first night. Both the quesadillas and Buffalo wings were delicious. Big portions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
425 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A nice fresh-air bar and grill with some atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would say the Lava Lounge Bar and Grill is one of the better places to eat in La Fortuna. It's dubbed a bar, but during the day it's more like a restaurant with a relaxed and laid back atmosophere. My family and I ate here one lunchtime and had some really tasty food for a good price. The best part was when Volvan Arenal showed its face halfway through the meal. I would recommend this place to anyone, young or old, but make sure you bring cash with you - they don't take credit cards!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Laid back feel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fun and lively place. Liked the volcano videos they were showing on the TV. Food was just OK. Very limited menu. I had a Chicken Wrap. Was enough for two meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank closetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing