We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Rufino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were recommended this place by a couple of different people.

So we decided to try it out and we were not dissapointed!!!

I ordered the Chuletas casadas, Basically Pork Chops, rice with a fried egg on top, black beans, plantains and a salad.

This is could be very well the best plate I had during all of our trip to Costa Rica.

My wife ordered the Pollo al estilo a la Abuela.

This dish was very interesting, the sauce consisted of chocolate, coffee, and other spices.

Very good as well.

I posted pics as well.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    513
    185
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very expensive but very good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This gets a 3-star for the price. Our food was very good, we both had steak, wine and appetizers and costed us 115$. We can eat equivalent dinner for less back home in Canada. Very nice place for a special evening or "date night" . This place is not kid friendly. Its an upscale establishment.
I would not recomment this place if you are on a budget. There are other places around town that offer same menu for less.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in the area!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was recommended to us by several people. We went during the rainy season and were told by several people that we were in the area during the slowest week of the year. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of people that came into the restaurant while we were there.

I ordered the grouper, and HIGHLY recommend it. It was the best grouper I have ever had. My boyfriend had the beef tenderloin and is still raving about it, 4 days later! I can't wait to go back next time we are in Costa Rica.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent! Don't miss it!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Service, choice, presentation and quality are excellent and well worth the money. E.g. 8,700Col for a lasagne may sound a lot, however, it simply hits your gustative nerve perfectly well. Never had a more delicious and better presented lasagne in my life, very fresh and light. The waiter is very attentive and decent. Some hot crispy rolls and butter will be served as an appetizer with their compliments. The restaurant is very well maintained, clean and cozy. Don't try to find a better place in La Fortuna, you are already there! Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ComfyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but get the Scallop/Shrimp Ceviche”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

All we ordered here was teh Scallop and Shrimp Ceviche. totally weird, but delicious twist on what looks like the Costa rican signature dish. It was pricey, but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing