We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but get the Scallop/Shrimp Ceviche” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Rufino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $65
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but get the Scallop/Shrimp Ceviche”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

All we ordered here was teh Scallop and Shrimp Ceviche. totally weird, but delicious twist on what looks like the Costa rican signature dish. It was pricey, but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,052
    490
    180
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

definitely ny prices in la fortuna but then again if you are on vacation why not come here for at least one nite... actually we visited this place twice and both times the food was really good... definitely worth one trip here...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yum but not fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Don Rufino on 8/18/13. We had the ceviche appetizer (very yummy, I asked for sliced fresh jalepenos, they added extra crunch and spice), grandma's chicken (yummy idea and good glaze but a little dry) and the filet wrapped in bacon (yum, ordered med rare and delivered about med rare). The prices were on par with our hotel restaurant as was the quality. I would say not fantastic but ok. If we came back to Costa Rica we'd try Benedictus first if they were open, if not then maybe we'd come back here. A solid 3.5

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great restraunt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Came here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and I was impressed overall by their food and staff. My boyfriend ordered a churrasco (didn't have much condiment, making the taste a bit bland,) but the risotto I ordered was incredible!!. We then ordered postres which were excellent and the staff was so kind enough to bring a birthday postre and sing Feliz Cumpleanos to my bf! We will definitely come back to this restaurant again when vacationing in Arenal and look forward to try the rest of their dishes.

I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant in Arenal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but Exc!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Is very expensive but the meals served there are top deal. Very good service and food, if you want to spend some bucks in good food must go there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing