We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best in La Fortuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $65
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Seafood, International, Contemporary, South American, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Yes it is pricey, but it deserves a #1 rating in the area. Meal was scrumptious with large portions. I got surf and turf, but I would warn those used to cold water lobster that the ones from down this way are not as flavorful.

Staff was great, the ambience was just OK as it sits on the main street, but that makes it very convenient. Best meal we had in La Fortuna for sure

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    450
    170
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“nice but really pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ate there two nights running as it was just a step out from the hotel-first night ordered grandmothers chicken and the next night the Szechuan chicken-both were great but just remember to bring your wallet

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My chicken dish had a coffee and chocolate sauce, need I say more???,!! Food was great and service was quick. Very close to the town too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neetakaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamelanie
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sorry, Gourmet meals definitely taste better than this. The flavor of the dishes were bland and several meat dishes were overcooked. I don't mind paying for expensive meals, but this is no comparison to most of the restaurants in that price range I've ate at. I'm very disappointed. The only positive of this place is it's decor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iammelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There is a very large menu that included chicken, beef, salads and pasta dishes. my salad with tomatoes, bacon and mozzarella cheese was excellent. The place is very clean and friendly. The prices are more expensive than most of the other restaurants in town. The quality though is also better so you do get what you pay for. My husband and I both ordered a pasta dish. I ordered the pasta with tomatoes and mozzarella and my husband had pasta with olives and mushrooms. It was their house dish. We enjoyed our meal, the environment and the overall appeal. I would recommend stopping in for a bite while you are there. There is also a nice selection that I think children would enjoy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenandike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing