We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Afternoon”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Volunteer Program and Tour at Wildlife Rescue Center in Costa Rica
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our family's "must do" while in Costa Rica. We loved being able to interact with the animals. One monkey actually grabbed the sunglasses off my head and then pulled some hair out. I was warned by Carlos, but got too close because Jessica was just too adorable! Being able to get into the enclosure with baby monkeys was awesome. My thirteen year old fell in love with the spider monkeys who hugged and loved on him for the longest time. Would definitely recommend this for anyone who loved animals. Take your bug spray!

2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hola Amy B,

We are so happy to read about your activity here and how you and your family enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing this and recommending the activity as a must do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 958 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is such a wonderful experience for all members of your family. We were up close and personal with the animals. Staff is so knowledgeable you can not miss this when visiting Costa Rica.
Stay at the Treehouses in the same area and view the wildlife there as well, especially if you are a bird watcher.

1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Marlene,

We are so glaf to read about your time here and how you enjoyed this a lot. Thank you for sharing this with the readers and us and recommending the activity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our group of 10 had a wonderful experience here with Carlos as our guide. We learned so much from him and got to see so many animals close up. It is very clear how much they care about the well-being of the animals. Prior to our visit, my 13 year old daughter raised money to donate to the center to support their cause and she was honored to bring it to them. They are really doing a great service. I highly recommend doing the volunteer tour, since you get to feed the animals which is really a lot of fun. For me, this visit was one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica.

Thank Scientist_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Scientist_11,

We thank you very much for visiting us with your group. We feel thrilled to read about your experience as one of your highlights.
We also appreciate a lot your immense help when volunteering here and the donation that will definitely help us.
Thank you for sharing this with the readers and us and recommending the activity.
We hope to meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our favorite way to see and learn about Costa Rican animals. We learned a lot, feed the animals, and had a great three hours. Carlos was an awesome guide. This visit is a must.

Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hola Kimberly K,

We feel thrilled to read about your experience here and the fact this was a very nice way to learn from our country. Thank you for sharing this with the readers and us and recommending the activity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We did a tour only, not volunteer part. The guide was great - kids loved this tour. They have not large number of animal to show, but it is enough to spend 1.5 hours there.
If you are driving to Arenal from San Ramon, it is a good idea to stop in this place for a break.

Thank nif-nif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hola nif-nif,


Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you had a very interesting tour. It would be definitely a good idea to think about coming here on your way to San Ramon or the airport, however, we highly recommend to book beforehand to ensure space.
Thank you for sharing this with the readers and us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing