We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this based on other TripAdvisor reviews - and loved it! Carlos was truly an amazing guide - very knowledgeable, great with kids, parents and animals! This is an incredible refuge and the staff are passionate about their work.

This was the highlight of our vacation for our 9 and 11 year old boys. They held baby spider monkeys and snakes, fed toucans, and actually even cleaned out the monkey cages (gleefully, no less!). Highly, highly recommended!
Truly a memorable and wonderful experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hola Billy700,

We feel thrilled to read your review and are ecstatic to know your kids' highlight was your visit here, and of course the fact that you consider this refuge as 'incredible'.
We are daily working to make this project grow and now we are working in new enclosures for future animals that might need shelter.
Thank you for sharing this with the readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    147
    34
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our guide was very informative and funny as he walked us through the grounds and showed us and told us all about the rescue animals and birds. After the tour we helped prepare their food and then went back around and were able to feed and interact with a lot of the wildlife. Very interesting, fun, and informative to see this facility and group of people helping the local wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Michael,

We really appreciate your help here with the animals and of course we are glad to know people learn while having fun. Thank you for sharing your experience about the Tour/Volunteering activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Special treat for those passionate about animals”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found out about this organization on tripadvisor as it was not advertised or offered through my hotel or tour operator. Our family enjoyed this experience very much! We found the tour interesting and our 11 yr old son immensely enjoyed the interaction with the animals. Our guide was very informative about how these animals end up at the project and what we should not do to interfere with nature or promote the illegal capture and abuse of these animals. Even if you only have time (or money) for the guided tour that is very worth it. We did the longer volunteer version, which is great for the kids who want to be involved helping make the food and take it to the animal's cages. I would say feed the animals, but if you are with a large group and at the end of the line, the animals can be full by the time it is your turn. The location is remote from LaFortuna/Arenal areas, and I was aware you could catch the local bus for $2 from town, but our hotel said it could be complicated with being our first day and no Spanish, so we opted to take private transport which is $100 roundtrip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi rockmama12052,

We are glad to read your review which we appreciate a lot. This activity has a limited number of people, so we can ensure that everyone will enjoy the volunteering part of feeding the animals, sometimes we are even able to split in 2 groups depending on the number of people. We really thank your opinion to keep aware of these little but very important details.

We also thank you very much for your visit that helps us to keep working in this project for the animals.
The price of transportation changes based on the distance; sometimes, there are some hotels that are located further, so the price changes, people usually are located closer and the price is lower, and in occasions they are lucky to share this and so the price is much lower.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your support that is really important to continue this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monkey Love”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Proyecto Asis is a great operation. What a wonderful thing they are doing.
I saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and they were all wonderful.

Jose was our guide and he was really good. He seemed to know quite a bit about all the animals and their history. Very informative.
I got to hold a baby monkey which was adorable. My trip would have been complete had there been a sloth on the property but unfortunately for me there wasn't.

We had a bit of a thrill w/Coco the spider monkey! Jose asked if we wanted a hug from Coco and warned that the females may want to pass as Coco had a thing for long hair. That was enough of a warning for me! The girl with the other family wanted to and again she warned but she really wanted to. Well Coco spotted the rubberband in her ponytail and that's ALL he wanted. He was focused. She was brave and patient. Ultimately Jose had to get a banana to distract Coco. All was good after the banana. The girl was fine and her hair was intact!

Great photo opportunities and friendly staff.
They offer a volunteer tour as well that looked interesting but we didn't think our 6yo would have had the patience for it.

Definitely worth checking out and supporting their efforts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hola TRNW,
Thank you for your visit and supporting this important work we daily do. We appreciate your review very much. Everyone is different, and it's quite the same with the animals. They are wild animals and that's why we are cautious all the time.
It's good to know the staff is always prepared to deal with any situation. Many times, little children have been the strongest reason why families came here and they don't want to leave. Sometimes they have been the ones telling everyone about their experience.
Thank you very much for your review, and sharing your experience and of all the members of your family. It's really important for us, so we can keep improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Really great tour and volunteering opportunity”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was one of our favorite things we did during our trip. The tour was very informative warning about the widespread problem of people trying to keep wild animals as pets. For each animal the guide explained why they were there and why they would be release or stay in the sanctuary. Afterwards we stayed for volunteering where we helped to feed a number of the birds and monkeys. We were able to get close to many of the animals and interact with them. The highlight was holding two baby monkeys that had been abandoned.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hola Erin,
Thank you for visiting us in April and supporting this important work we daily do. We appreciate your review very much. We feel so glad to know you consider this 'great'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing