We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all animal lovers!”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was absolutely the highlight of our trip! The tour was interesting and informative, but our absolute favorite was the volunteer time. If you love animals, this is the epitome for you! You get to prepare food and feed all the animals, including petting the kinkajou and having baby capuchin monkeys climb on you! We laughed so hard and got some amazing pictures. Our 11 year old son even rated this activity above rappelling and the caves. Really, how many times in your life will you be able to hold baby capuchins?

Thank RLMVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi RLMVirginia,
We feel so glad to know this was your Highlight. It was also great to know your kid loved this as well. Thank you for coming and supporting the daily work we do for the animals, and for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,069 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great chance to see injured/orphaned/confiscated wildlife up close, and hear their individual stories from Carlos, a wonderful and enthusiastic guide. I paid extra to stay for the volunteer session, and was able to help prepare and feed the animals, even inside some of their cages! A really heart-warming and enriching experience!

Thank Quasimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi Quasimama,
It is great to hear your experience was heart-warming and enriching. Thank you for your time to share a review about the activity. We really appreciate it. Thank you very much for supporting the work for these animals and others in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Please go to Proyecto Asis to support the animal refuge! You will get to play with animals, and tour guide Carlos makes the trip so much fun!

Thank LauritaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hola LauritaQ,
What wonderful words! Love! Love for the animals! Thank you for your review and for the fact that you recommend people to come, learn and enjoy about the wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a hard time getting our daughter to leave. It's absolutely worth staying for the volunteering time because you get to prepare food and feed the animals, maybe even hold the baby monkeys. Our tour guide Carlos was very friendly and knowledgeable, and staff were great. They do some great work there caring for the animals and releasing them when possible.

Thank LeToKall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi LeToKall,
This experience is amazing for all ages, sometimes kids even more than adults. We feel thrilled to know you and your daughter loved this. You might have a new chance in the future, maybe you could stay longer next time, a full day activity or even weeks.
Thank you for sharing this. That was so sweet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited this awesome place with our 3 year old and had such a great experience . What they do here is really commendable!

Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Hi M S,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we really appreciate it, and of course for your support. We are glad to know that you liked the activity that much that you even recommend it to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing