We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Volunteer Program and Tour at Wildlife Rescue Center in Costa Rica
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Proyecto Asis was a definite highlight of our trip. The guide was very knowledgeable, fun, and really enjoyed his job. We got to hold baby monkeys and play with older ones all while learning about them and the other animals. Although there were not that many animals, it was definitely a great time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeniise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hola Jeniise,
We are thrilled to know you consider our activities a Highlight. This tour is a lot of fun, most animals are funny; you can really enjoy and learn while being here. It is perfect when you combine learning with fun, and this is what we do every single day. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience and supporting the project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    149
    36
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great Family Activity!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family of six (with 2 grandparents, 2 parents, and 2 kids ages 10 and 13) took the Volunteer half day tour and loved it. We had Carlos as our guide, and he was not only very knowledgeable, but he was great with the kids and made it fun for all of us. During the first part, we were introduced to each animal and told their background story about how they ended up here--VERY educational. During our visit, there were baby Capuchin monkeys, which we got to hold (as they won't be released back into wild), and we also got to hold a baby boa constrictor and touch a baby sloth. So special. For the "volunteer" aspect of the tour, we prepared food for the animals and walked around and fed them. We REALLY enjoyed seeing what the animals eat, as well as getting another opportunity to see them up close. We liked everything about this tour, and we are so glad that we did it. It provided a nice balance to the other activities we did in the Arenal area.

We drove ourselves here from Arenal Observatory Lodge, located further west from La Fortuna, so it took us about an hour and 15 minutes each way; however, it was well worth the trip. We were not part of a tour group, and we arranged the reservation directly with Proyecto Asis via email before leaving home. We ended up being the only guests on the morning of our tour, so that was really nice.

After the tour, if you are looking for a great local place to eat, we highly recommend "Happy Land" which is less than 5 minutes away by car. It was recommended by Carlos, and we couldn't have been more pleased. We enjoyed served heaping plates of tender chicken, rice, black beans, egg, plantains, and potato. Delicious!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kathysjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hola kathysjourneys,
Our activities are for all ages, little kids, teenagers, adults; everyone enjoys. Thank you very much for the description of the Tour and Volunteering, and of course thank you so much for being here and supporting our work for the animals and our plans to raise awareness about conservation issues. By the way, we loved the photos; we really appreciate that you uploaded them here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We did the volunteer tour, and it was a lot of fun for the entire family. Our guide did a wonderful job introducing us to all the animals and teaching us about the species and their individual histories. The kids loved cutting up the fruit to feed the animals, and holding the baby monkeys was an experience of a lifetime! Very, very cute .. and all for a good cause!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hola Khop127,
Thank you very much for your review. We are really interested in the visitors’ opinions about the activities. Of course it makes us happy to see how much you liked the tour. Thank you very much for your support. We hope to say: ‘Welcome back!’ one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

At Proyecto Asis, you learn a lot about the animals, birds etc. that are there, but you also get to touch and sometimes hold them. It's so exciting seeing the animals in the wild, but getting to touch them at Proyecto Asis was awesome. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and all the tour money is used to help Proyecto Asis continue to help the animals; they do not receive any government funding.

We are a family of four with two teens, and we also had my daughters boy friend with us. We did the 2 hour tour, and we all loved this experience and would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank H00kedOnTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hola H00kedOnTravelling,
We are glad to know you all loved the activity. We try to make it fun while you are learning about all the animals. As you mentioned, as a non-profit organization, mostly what we get to keep on this daily work is when visitors come. Thank you very much for helping us through your visit and thank you very much for recommending these activities to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely go”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Some reviewers have said this place is expensive. However, it is a not for profit that is doing great things to try to rehabilitate illegally captured animals and release the ones it can back into the wild and use the ones it can't to educate people about the issues with animal trafficking. On top of that, holding a monkey has been something I always wanted to do and can now cross that off my bucket list.

Our guide was extremely passionate about what he did and what Proyecto Asis was doing. He was very knowledgable about the animals and we learned a lot about them. We opted to stay and feed the animals after (which they charge a little more for, but again, its for a great cause) which was a cool experience. Having the monkeys come and just grab the food out of your hand is pretty cool, as well as having the toucans reach out and pick the fruit off the palm of your hand. I was able to see a few animals I did not get to see in the wild, two of which I never would ahve known existed.

If you are in the La Fortuna area, this is well worth a few hours of your stay. The experience is amazing and the price (which I thought was very reasonable) covers a great charity. You can volunteer for an extended period here where they will put you up with a family and teach you spanish, which seems like a great way to learn spanish and help animals all at once and is something I would seriously consider doing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hola Kevin T,
Thank you very much for your support.

As we have shared before, our ideal with this project is more than receiving people to see animals, it is protecting endangered, forsaken, injured, orphaned, sick species; as well as sharing a message about different situations to bear in mind when thinking about animals.
The idea is much more different from what you would find in a zoo where you usually pay to see the animals with no guided tour. And it is not only the message we want the world to know but also the important economic issues that this daily work implies.

This is a non-profit organization that thanks all visitors for their economic support provided in order to maintain the cages, repair them when needed, or even to make new ones, besides that, the food the animals need daily and the treatments they require, tests, etc. to check with the veterinarian that they are getting better or keeping healthy.

It is not this only that, we also work in a project for the communities and schools to raise awareness about the importance of protecting the environment and what it implies.
Again, thank you very much for all your help by coming here, learning and having fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing