We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would like to have visited”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Volunteer Program and Tour at Wildlife Rescue Center in Costa Rica
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would like to have visited”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only had limited time in La Fortuna and did not have access to a car. None of the La Fortuna tour companies provide trips out to the institute anymore (Desafio did, but not any more). Our choices were either public bus (about one hour each way; runs approximately hourly) or the Institute offered to lay on transport for $80. So we regrettably chose to forego a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyDuzzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hola EasyDuzzit,
That's sad news. We really want people to have this experience here. We hope you can have a chance in a future visit to Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your interest in the project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    149
    36
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite Activity”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did the half day volunteer at Proyecto Asis. Carlos was very passionate and thorough in educating us about the animals. It is a smaller facility than I expected, but we saw peccaries, capuchin monkeys, spider monkeys, a badger, a boa constrictor macaws, parrots, toucans and several other birds. We even saw a howler monkey that hangs out in the trees outside of the center. This was the favorite activity of our entire family of 4 and I highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chacogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hola Chacogreen,
It's great to know that the Tour/Volunteering was your favorite activity here. Thank you for sharing this experience. The area has 8 acres, but we keep 5 of them entirely natural for natural habitats since we get several animals liveing here by their own.
Thank you for recommending the activity and for your support to these animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great fun with animals - and very friendly staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although Projecto Asis is inconveniently far from the La Fortuna it was well worth the travel time (about 1 hour). It was far better than another animal rescue facility we visited near Puerto Viejo. Fewer people, more interesting animals, more interaction with the animals, ... .

Among the memorable experiences:

1) The domesticated female wild boar - very friendly (unlike her undomesticated neighbors). And the squeezing of the scent gland on her back is indescribable - a jet of absolutely pungent (and that is putting it nicely) liquid shooting feet in the air.

2) Feeding the animals (and there are a lot of them) - they got the kids involved in the food preparation (mashing bananas, cutting up papaya, ...) and then the kids did the feeding. E.g. handing the food to some of the monkeys, who, in many cases wanted attention aside from food (so lots of non-threatening interaction like grabbing hair without hurting).

3) Tour of the animals - often with the staff coaxing the animals into range to interact with the kids.

4) Tour of the grounds - e.g. pointing out that the termites are edible, if inconveniently small in quantity. (My son and I tried some - a little bitter -g-).

Altogether cannot say enough good things about Proyecto Asis.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clarksterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Clarksterh,
thank you for sharing your experience in such details and for recommending the project as a singular one. We hope to see you again over here.
Thank you for supporting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I did the half day volunteer and tour which was worth the extra hour to get to cut up some fruit and feed the animals. Carlos was a wonderful guide, and the other staff we briefly got to meet were very friendly and welcoming. This was a day we'll never forget, we learned so much about animals and nature. It's a once in a lifetime experience to be able to hold and feed these wild animals. Affordable price and a lot of fun for a good cause. I recommend spending the extra money volunteering and bring a camera!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hola Mikaela G,
It is a pleasure for all the staff to share with visitors, it's always a new experience. We feel thrilled to know you will never forget this day. Thank you for supporting our daily work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with the animals- just the tour is sufficient though!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

MOST IMPORTANT THING- BRING BUG SPRAY! They had some there but it wasn't enough, I wish I would have brought Deet. I got sooooooooo bit up!

We did the half day volunteering ($48). The guide was fantastic and we learned a lot about each animal and several things about Costa Rica in general. The highlight is of course the monkeys- you get to hold hands with several of them, and even hold baby ones! You can take your time too and have time for several pictures. Really a great experience.

Only thing I'd do differently is just stick with the tour. It was a good amount of time- about 2.5 hours I think? And that would have been $27. The "volunteer" part was cutting up fruit and feeding it to all the animals we just saw. It was fun, but by that time we were kind of over it, haha. Only part that was different about this was getting to go into the bird cages, etc.

Overall I highly recommend visiting Proyecto Asis if you are an animal lover!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hola shell4178,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are strongly recommending everyone to bring bug spray once they have a confirmation with us since some of them are better than others and sometimes people have to use one specific kind.

Thank you for supporting our project for the animals' care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing