We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this !”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Wildlife Rescue Center Tour in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this !”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I decided to go to Proyecto Asis based on reviews on this site and I'm sure glad I did. I went on the tour with Carlos and he is very knowledgeable, loves what he does and has a superb sense of humor. After the tour I did the volunteer part feeding the animals and that was such a feel good time. The highlight was cuddling the 3 month old cappuchin monkey while it tried to get me earring and glasses off. If you love animals and birds, this is a must do.
And it is super easy to get to on the local bus from La Fortuna. At the main bus station get on the bus marked CHACHAGUA, leaving at 7:15am. Get a brochure if possible for Proyecto Asis or tell the driver this is where you are going. It is near the town of Javillos. The bus dropped me right at the front gate at 8:00am and the tour started at 8:30...perfect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cohoqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,073
    147
    35
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you're an animal lover, do this.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Completely worthwhile, educational and fun. A highlight of our trip to the Arenal area. We took the tour and volunteered for the morning session. Carlos, our guide, was a delight, Andy we learned a TON about: spider monkeys, peccaries, macaws, parrots, parakeets, coatimundis, kinkajous, capuchin monkeys, boas, etc. We had the wonderful chance to interact with most of the animals, with the knowledge that when they are able, Proyecto Asis releases their guests into nature.

The group size was small, which was also very nice (the people were also congenial).

Our volunteer duty was meal prep and feeding, which was pretty darn cool.

The cost for two was about $100 US, but when you see the care and attention to the animals' welfare, you realize it's money well spent. This should be on your must-do list if you love animals.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best way to see animals in La Fortuna area!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I did a 1/2 day with volunteer tour. I have to give a warning though! If you take the public bus from La Fortuna you need to make sure tell the bus driver you want to go to "animal sanctuary". If you say Proyecto Asis, you may end up at the bottom of a hill leading to a Power Company called Ice!! We were an hour late for our tour and nobody at the gates spoke English!! It was about 5 kilometers away, which negated a lot of our savings from taking a taxi b/c we had to call for one anyways. Even the taxi driver didn't know the place until he called his office and they spoke English, at which point they mentioned the animal santcuary and I said yes.

Ok enough of the travel woes! The tour itself was awesome. Carlos was our tour guide and he was fun and informative. You get to learn about and touch a lot of the animals that you may or may not see in the wild. During the dry season we found many of the animals missing from plain view like we saw in the rainy season. The "volunteer" time is more expensive but it absolutely makes the tour great! You get to feed the animals and interact with them. If you are in or around La Fortuna do not miss this tour and bring a camera!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PuraVida1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“interesting and well spent 2 hours”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we enjoyed this though we did not know that they have 2 tour times- 8 a.m. and 1 p.m.
good tour, interesting information and worth the $27/head

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jason6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A favorite experience of trip to Costa Rica!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We LOVED our visit to Proyecto ASIS! While staying in Fortuna, we rented a car for a day just to make the trip to Proyecto ASIS. Very easy 30 minute drive from Fortuna.
Carlos our guide was wonderful- so friendly, great english, and clearly loves both his job and the animals. He gave us a wonderful tour of all the animals, eagerly answered all our questions. We got to hear the story about how each animal ended up at the refuge, and if and when they will be able to be released back into the wild. It was obvious that he's bonded with many of the animals there. We stayed for the volunteer part after the tour, and this was definitely worth it! We got to cut fruit and prepare "pancakes", and then went to feed all the different animals. They offered us a break between the tour and volunteering with a typical latino drink called Horchata- which was a nice touch. We got to pet the baby sloth, and hold the baby white faced monkeys- which was so fun. The monkeys of course are a highlight because they interacted with us.
Thinking over our entire trip- many of my favorite memories came from Proyecto ASIS! Definitely worth the visit! If you like animals- a must do while in the Fortuna area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nestlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing