We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Volunteer Program and Tour at Wildlife Rescue Center in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Amazing is an understatement as to what they do here. A definite must for kids and adults.AND CARLOS IS SUPER KNOWLEDGABLE. He spent adequate time at each animal residence and explained everything and more. You won't find this being advertised anywhere but it's a must and a hidden gem. It's also 40 mins outside of la fortuna BUT ITS AN EASY BUS RIDE ( 2 dollars) each way from downtown la fortuna to the nearest intersection ( which is 5 minutes WALKING from the entrance of projecta asis)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    147
    34
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing Experience!!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The best experience for a family in a country filled w great family experiences! It was like walking through a friend's backyard, providing that your friend keeps wild animals in his yard. As soon as my 10 y/o and I walked in we were made to feel like family. We got to see, hold, feed and interact w animals that you might see, if you're lucky, on one of those other "wildlife" tours. Sloths, baby monkeys, many types of exotic birds and so many others are your's to hold, feed and interact with.
Adriana and our guide, Carlos, were amazing hosts and incredibly knowledgable. Our driver, Mario, was so good that we used him for our entire stay in country.
This is a must do!!!l

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kooldom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Experiences Ever”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We absolutely loved visiting Proyecto Asis. The work they are doing to rescue, rehabilitate and release the animals back into the wild is admirable.

We did the tour and volunteered to feed the animals at the end, and the whole experience was rewarding. Carlos was a knowledgeable and patient guide, and the ability to interact so closely with the animals was priceless. Personally, I am terrified of snakes, and I used the experience to overcome the fear by holding a boa constrictor. I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing that anywhere else, but first learning about the snake's story really helped me to view the animal in a different light.

If you are in the area, I highly recommend doing this. You can zip line and go horseback riding anywhere, but when will you ever be able to hold and feed a baby monkey?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Project Asis”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Proyecto Asis - named after Francis of Asisi - protector of animals is a wildlife rescue/rehabilitation center that offers visitors a guided tour of the facility that houses sloths, monkeys, parrots, parakeets, toucans, and even wild pigs. I highly recommend this fun, informative and educational tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbear602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston, va
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

If you love seeing animals up close, do not miss this place. We learned about Proyecto Asis from our daughter. It was a bit costly but some of the entrance fee goes towards helping animals at this rescue. We had to take a very costly taxi ride to the place, and neither of our drivers had ever heard if it. Even though it is off the beaten path, it was worth it to be at the most memorable place of our Costa Rica trip! We loved being able to touch and feed the animals. Our guide gave us lots of information in an entertaining manner. As "empty nesters", we loved it. If you have kids, this is a great educational and fun place to spend time. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank eatergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing