We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Place too Eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Central American, Latin, Costa Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We offer typical Costa Rican Food with an extraordinary customer service. But our menu offer other options like pasta, fast food, salads, exotic desserts and many more.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Place too Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is not a real typical Costa Rican restaurant as it promotes itself, but is more catered for tourists.The taste of food is a bit above average and portions big...prices though are pretty high for your normal casado.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    301
    132
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its outside seating. Pretty extensive menu with lots of choices. It was recommended to us by one of the locals. Good service and good food!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped by La Choza de Laurel after an afternoon of shopping and walking around in La Fortuna. The restaurant is on the north end of the main strip next to burger king and it seems to be a hotspot for locals and tourists. When we arrived there were a busload of people dining there. We werent really sure about the place but decided to have lunch there. Their manu was great they have a mix of foods, pastas, chicken, sea food and more. Me and my wife requested our new favorite Arroz Pollo (Rice Chicken), I think thats what they call it. and the kids ordered pasta. The food came fresh out of the kitchen in a few minutes. The service was fast and food was fresh.
I would definitely dine here again and would highly recommend this restaurant to others venturing out in La Fortuna.
Happy Dining!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aero E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good quality food. Great value. Nice casual atmosphere. Loved the open air dining area. My wife had the best steak of our entire stay in Costa Rica. High quality cut, cooked very nicely. While wait staff was obliging and evidently busy, the wait for service was generally long. The ceviche I had, along with the "Olla de Carne" stew (similar to Sancocho) were savory and filling. The batidos were an excellent dessert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat after zip lining in Arenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Authentic Costa Rican cuisine with excellent service, I could eat their arroz con pollo everyday! Delicious

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Decade4LivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing