We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for a snack on the way to the volcano!”
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer typical Costa Rican Food with an extraordinary customer service. But our menu offer other options like pasta, fast food, salads, exotic desserts and many more.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stop for a snack on the way to the volcano!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to grab a quick bite. This place has high ceilings and is open air. The dining room and restroom were very clean. My waitress was kind enough to let me practice my wretched Spanish on her. Fried yucca is delicious and comes with fantastic guacamole.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    318
    141
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Price!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Another tourist recommended we stop by here, and I'm glad we did! The food was delicious and plentiful. We ordered the ceviche and whole chicken. The chicken was moist and so flavorful! All of the waiters were very friendly too. Not very expensive either!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelz993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty and excellent presentation”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was very tasty and the presentation was super cool and very different. The pina colada came in actual pina decorated like a face, it was so beaituiful and taste very good. We order their special traditional plate for 2, and it was a huge amount of food with great flavor and very authentic. their yuca appetizer plate is amazing, too
Definitely a must when visititng La Fortuna. Service was great too. It is a little expensive but it is worthy and you will not be disappointed. Real Costa Rican Meals

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetylatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taste of Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first real taste of Costa Rica and we were very pleased. Our tour guide stop on our way to a preserve and pre-ordered for us so that we did not have to wait long. The portion of food was huge and I could not even think of finishing it all. Service was good and even in the monsoon rain it was lovely to be in an open air restaurant.

Enjoy.

Debi

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllergicFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Generous portions, nice presentation”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had their lunch sampler platter, and the food was good, and the presentation lovely. Decent value in an area where prices seemed consistently touristy/high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLuLu_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing