We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meals!”
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer typical Costa Rican Food with an extraordinary customer service. But our menu offer other options like pasta, fast food, salads, exotic desserts and many more.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meals!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We really enjoyed La Choza. The staff at Hotel El Sliencio del Campo recommended it and it was perfect place for our family. We went twice and both times ordered the whole chicken with a side of rice and it was perfect (especially since we'd had a light lunch). The meal also came with tortillas, beans and guac. Very good!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MorleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    316
    141
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“mama mia”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a real authentic costa rican restaurant, and we found it. All I remember is everything on the menu looked good. There were all locals eating there (the best sign of a good place to eat!). We loved it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippergirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional dress, but food nothing special”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is set in a big barn, with waitresses in traditional dress. you eat on benches around wooden tables. It felt like it was set up to cater for bus parties wanting a "traditional" feel, but felt very empty with just us and one other party there. Despite the lack of customers, or perhaps because, the service was not very attentive. The food was OK (average isn't bad), but we had better elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ness321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great food and fun”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice location, rapid and good service with smiling people everywhere... Huge plates...!! To be tried once - and twice. Good value for price too. We will surely be back for our next Costarica trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghepa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
758 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Good typical Costa Rican food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had dinner here this evening and it was a very good experience. The restaurant is open air with a roof. There are a large number of picnic tables, some seating more than others. The menu is bilingual. Service is average. We ordered combination plates of typical food. There was a lot of food for a little over $10 and dinners went up to about $20 for steaks. The combination plate is a good introduction to Costa Rican food. We are only here a few nights so we will try some other restaurants, but would go back if we were here longer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing