We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soda la tipica

Soda la tipica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We came here twice during our stay in Arenal. It's located nearby the Christian supermarket. When we went, they didn't serve beer so we went to the supermarket to grab a couple of imperial.

The female chef is always there. She handles the kitchen and grill on her own. Quite impressive.

We ordered the jalapeño steak, ceviche, Tostones with guacamole, Casado with fish and all of them had great flavor and tasted fresh. They have this smokey tasting BBQ sauce that is to die for. So good. We should have asked to bring home a bottle.

The menu is in Spanish and English which was helpful because the servers barely spoke English. They also have pictures which helped us decide.

Price is fair relative to other options in the area. I think because they didn't serve alcohol, they are losing some customers. So make sure to stop by the supermarket beforehand and you'll be all set.

Helpful?
Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ate here a few times. Had the local dish, chicken with rice and beans and plantain. Delicious, reasonable food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank job96756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“recommended by a local.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

taken here by a local as 'hotel'restaurant was closed (due to swarm of bee).Very pleasantly surprised. Empty when we arrived but soon filled up. Fish excellent as was wood smoked steak with local sides.No wine, but local beer a good alternative.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleEnglandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Burger OK, bad tourist treatment”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place was just up from my hotel in La Fortuna. I gave it a try for dinner one night and came away very unhappy.

First, the burger was OK, not great, but OK. The problem was that the menu only had a plate with both burger and fries. I did not want fries and asked if they served just a plain burger. I was explicitly assured they did. This is common in Costa Rica. I was served and ate my burger. When I went to pay, I was told they only served the plate with fries and was charged for both. I commonly get just a burger in Costa Rica (asking first) and they charge a little less for no fries. This was a shell game.

I find it objectionable if they do this to tourists. As a Spanish-speaking resident of the country, I find it outrageous. OK, it's a tourist town and I'm sure many get taken advantage of. That doesn't make it right. I will not return to La Típica.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Really convenient spot between La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano with good food and reasonable prices! Ate there a few times. It may get a little busy at times and don't expect the waiter to take your order right away, but he is nice and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda la tipica also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda la tipica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing