We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Soda La Tipica -Authentic Costa Rican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soda la tipica

Soda la tipica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
mascoutah IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soda La Tipica -Authentic Costa Rican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We love eating at down home, friendly restaurants which provide a peek into the culture of the country we are visiting. La Tipica did not disappoint. I felt as if we were served the very food that would have been put on the table in the owners home. Very tasty, wood fired grill. Cosada was great, service was very friendly, courteous, and the price can't be beat. I would recommend stopping here for a meal, it's on the main road into town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dugwik6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stoped at this place for dinner during my stay at La Fortuna. What had my attention was that it it was wood fire cooked, so we decided to stop and check it out. The place was very humble and the service was excellent. You can feel the kindness and the warm heart of the Costarican culture at this place. I ordered a churrasco with patacones. The churrasco had that unique smoked wood flavor that was mouth watering and cooked right. The patacones are pretty standard everywhere but these two together was like a match made in heaven. I recommend to try this if you are a steak lover. After our meal we stayed like an hour extra just chatting with our waiter. We felt at home. I recommend stoping by.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Costa Rican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was the first restaurant we ate at our first night in La Fortuna. We all ordered casado and were not disappointed in the taste.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Typical Tico food for cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've been here a few times during my two trips to Costa Rica, mostly because it's cheap, tasty, fast, and in the middle of town. I even saw some of my tour guides stop by to grab something before work. The fresh fruit shakes are really tasty, and the owners/workers are friendly and accommodating, even if you don't speak much Spanish.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank alda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our favorite tipica from our trip to Costa Rica. The salad, fried plantains with guacamole, and casados were delicious as were the fruit & milk batidos enjoyed by all. The cheeseburger has seasonings mixed in that some liked and others, well, not so much. The food did take a little longer than ideal, but there was a large party right ahead of us which clearly slowed down the kitchen (of one person!). We would definitely recommend this tipica!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaineMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda la tipica also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda la tipica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing