We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
353
131
53
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
131
53
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavash through groupon google translate foosball tables jaco beach liquid soap costa rica hot water tennis shoes little river every morning adventure package hotel is located rice and beans fresh towels daily breakfast white water rafting
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 591 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

My sister and I purchased the Groupon/Living Social package that ran though this hotel.

Everything was very organized, and the staff was helpful and made sure we had our schedule down. The only small issue we had was that dinner was not served on Sunday, and we were not told ahead of time. We simply went to the corner store, however, and it was fine. I would also recommend ensuring you know what to wear for each excursion or pack for anything (we frequently threw in a swimsuit and water shoes, just in case).

The restaurant was delicious, and the cook was accommodating to me as a vegetarian. Just ask, and they'll do their best!

The hotel room was pretty basic. There is only a single sheet on the bed, and it would definitely benefit from a blanket; however, the air conditioner worked well, and there was a working refrigerator and microwave, which was nice. As mentioned in other reviews, there were no toiletries other than liquid soap available, so bring your own.

The hotel is outside of town, but there are two small groceries you can walk to if you need to pick up snacks or essentials.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We stayed here for a week of adventure with our kids (ages 10 and 13). It was the perfect spot to be based for exploring the Arenal area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed the open air restaurant with daily buffet breakfasts and very reasonably priced dinners.

The best part of the hotel was the wonderful staff who were there to please and arrange any adventures you were looking for. We zip lined, rappelled, white water rafted, hiked, rode horses, soaked in hot springs and totally enjoyed our week here! I would recommend it to anyone looking for an outdoor adventure.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank msammons209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

This place was very nice. It was quiet, peaceful, fun, & friendly. The people were very nice and with great customer service. Always provided us with great tips to enjoy our stay. They treated us very nice.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was surprisingly nice. The pictures do it justice. The hotel is located just outside arenal, but a 7 min taxi ride can take you onto the city. Round trip is $14. The hotel is located next to a stream and the side of the forest. The grounds are nice and the pool is well kept. The food there is very good and they have a great assortment. If you want something else, they will make it for you too. The staff is great and always accommodating. We enjoyed our stay here..

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank jpunziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We went to this hotel for a spring break adventure trip. I had never used a groupon for a trip before so I was a little apprehensive, but it turned out very well.

The kitchen staff did a great job preparing meals and were always friendly and accommodating. They do make a lot of rice and beans, so if you aren't a fan, you might be a little disappointed. I happen to enjoy them and there were quite filling. Their chicken nachos were delicious too. I think I ordered them 3 times in a week.

We stayed a whole week and got to do some amazing activities including hiking, wildlife viewing, zip lining, horseback riding, ATV driving, white water rafting, and waterfall rappelling to name a few. Again, with the groupon, which included these activities, hotel stay, and 2 meals a day, I couldn't have secured a greater value. The price was VERY good.

We had a few issues with the language barrier, but we were able to get everything sorted out and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very basic but fairly clean. They only have soap in the bathroom, so be sure to bring all of your own toiletries. They don't have cute little bottles of shampoo, lotion, conditioner, etc., but I always bring my own anyway. If you are looking for luxury, you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, you will love it.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank micheleorr7316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews