We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The perfect little hideaway in La Fortuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect little hideaway in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lavas del Arenal is great place to stay in La Fortuna. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner Mario who was the most accommodating and helpful in any way possible. He helped us with getting around to and from the hot springs as well with our yours. He was very fun to hang around with. The grounds are very nicely maintained, there is a small pool to cool off on. The rooms all have private bathrooms and are just big enough for what you may need. Each comes with a small fridge, coffee maker and TV. Every morning there is a complementary hot home cooked breakfast waiting for you. We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zspon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    105
    45
    27
    14
See reviews for
98
185
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I decided to sign up to review places on TripAdvisor after a recent trip to Costa Rica with two girlfriends, when I learned how much a lot of the hotels rely on reviews to get business. PLEASE - come visit this place! From my very first interactions before arriving, I had a 5-star experience. My friends and I were trying to decide whether to rent a car or take shuttle buses during our trip, so I emailed Mario, the owner, asking for directions to the hotel and advice. He was immediately responsive and suggested we talk on the phone, during which time he gave me about half an hour's worth of travel advice. Then, he helped me find a rental car at a lower price, plus a pickup with a driver from the San Jose airport, since we were reluctant to navigate the road after dark. Throughout our stay, Mario gave us thoughtful and helpful advice about what tours to take, where to spend our days, etc., and he never led us astray. He actually got us substantial discounts for several of the attractions we visited. In short, he's an unbelievably helpful person who made a huge difference in the quality of our vacation.

The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes outside of La Fortuna, the main town near Arenal Volcano, at the end of a dirt road. It's an easy drive that takes you into the foothills of the nearby mountains, with stunning views. The hotel is small, with only about 10 rooms, a small pool and two open-air common spaces for eating and sitting. There is a small stream at the border of the property, and the whole thing is surrounded by trees and plants, so you feel like you're in a jungle retreat. It's stunning. Very quiet and perfect for when you need a true getaway. The rooms were clean, well air-conditioned, and comfortable. My only quibble was that the shower didn't have the greatest water pressure, but that certainly doesn't take away from recommending the hotel overall.

The breakfast was heavenly - fresh fruits, traditional Costa Rican rice and beans, and some kind of egg dish was the usual fare, plus Costa Rican coffee. Breakfast provided a great opportunity for bird-watching - we saw toucans among many other beauties.

In sum, if you are looking for a fantastic value hotel that's not a lot of frills but more than makes up for it in location, natural beauty, and outstanding service with easy links to all the major tourist attractions nearby, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurawantstoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved this place! Mario, the owner, is very hospitable and accommodating. We arrived late in the evening after a horrible first day in San Jose. Lavas del Arenal was a welcoming place to be! The room was clean and comfortable with tv, small fridge, microwave. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. The grounds are lush and very well taken care of. We loved the river flowing at the back of the property. Breakfast was great and supper even better. Mario is a great cook! The other guests were quiet and were clearly enjoying their stay as well. You can arrange tours from here. It's only about a 10 minute drive to La Fortuna so it's in an excellent location. We would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place in the middle of the forest, we really enjoyed the service by the owners, not far from San Carlos and El Tabacon, if your looking for a great value near in a quiet area near the attractions this is the place. Breakfast is great and if you need to arrange any activities you can set up any of them right at the place. Tje best is the attention by the owners.

Room Tip: Easier if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexstar8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We took the bus from San Jose, good times. Arrived in the afternoon, the owner showed us to our room and spoke with us for 10-15 minutes about the property, he gave us the personal tour and was more than helpful. Dinner was excellent, simple and delicious. If I ever get the opportunity to come back i will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmanspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I loved This little hotel close to san carlos' s main attactions and far enough to a get away experience.
Enjoy the service and treat from costarican people ... Oh and my 7 year boy enjoy the adventure :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miladyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
370 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from Fortuna and the activities. We did not have a car so that was a bit of a problem although you could always use a taxi. In fact, it might anyway be best to rent a car when you are in Arenal because the activities may be quite a distance away from each other. The room was fairly basic although we had a superior room. The superior here means that you have an extra bed for a third person. The room did not feel good for us. It was a bit run-down, smelled of cleaning liquids (which is good I suppose) and the shower was a bit dodgy (water+electrical wiring gives me creeps). However, the host Mario took extra efforts to please the guests and make them feel welcome. Whatever you needed, he tried to provide it. Even excellent dinners if you didn't feel like going to the town. He was always available. So, a bit mixed feelings: at best an average hotel but the host provided an exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#28 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.9 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Property: Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing