We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place in the middle of the forest, we really enjoyed the service by the owners, not far from San Carlos and El Tabacon, if your looking for a great value near in a quiet area near the attractions this is the place. Breakfast is great and if you need to arrange any activities you can set up any of them right at the place. Tje best is the attention by the owners.

Room Tip: Easier if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexstar8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 550 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We took the bus from San Jose, good times. Arrived in the afternoon, the owner showed us to our room and spoke with us for 10-15 minutes about the property, he gave us the personal tour and was more than helpful. Dinner was excellent, simple and delicious. If I ever get the opportunity to come back i will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmanspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I loved This little hotel close to san carlos' s main attactions and far enough to a get away experience.
Enjoy the service and treat from costarican people ... Oh and my 7 year boy enjoy the adventure :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miladyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from Fortuna and the activities. We did not have a car so that was a bit of a problem although you could always use a taxi. In fact, it might anyway be best to rent a car when you are in Arenal because the activities may be quite a distance away from each other. The room was fairly basic although we had a superior room. The superior here means that you have an extra bed for a third person. The room did not feel good for us. It was a bit run-down, smelled of cleaning liquids (which is good I suppose) and the shower was a bit dodgy (water+electrical wiring gives me creeps). However, the host Mario took extra efforts to please the guests and make them feel welcome. Whatever you needed, he tried to provide it. Even excellent dinners if you didn't feel like going to the town. He was always available. So, a bit mixed feelings: at best an average hotel but the host provided an exceptional service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you have a car, this is the place to stay. We (a swedish couple around 30) did not and still stayed for four days, booking one day at a time. The hotel is situated about 6-8 kilometers from La Fortuna. It has a nice pool, beautiful surroundings, all kinds of fruit trees in the garden, beautiful birds of all sorts just next to where you have breakfast. With a bit of luck you can also see other animals, like the poison dart frog, armadillo and iguana (we will post some pictures). The rooms are nice and tidy with tv, coffeemaker and refrigerator and everything works fine. A nice medium sized breakfast is included as well as wifi all around the property. The owner, Mario, likes to show you around and is very informative about anything you would like to know really. He's been working in the US for several years and speaks english flawlessly. Of course you can book your tours through him and be picked up at the hotel. If you ask Mario, he can make you a nice traditional dinner in the evening, too. The service and hospitality is really the best! However there is no menu and I guess you can't be sure to have all your meals at Lavas (though we did not ask). Therefore a car you can drive to town where the restaurants are would be preferred. Taxi works fine too, but taking a taxi every night to and from La Fortuna is actually quite pricey (that goes for the whole country, taxis are expensive), and the closest good restaurant is about a 30 minute walk away I think.

To sum it all up, Lavas del Arenal exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a cosy place in beautiful surroundings. The price and great service adds the extra value to the experience. If you have a car the deal is done.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gustaf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lavas del Arenal Hotel, what a nice place to stay.
It is one of those inviting places you want to stay for a while.
Don Mario (owner)’s hospitality is so welcoming that you want to come back soon again.

God is so blessing with our country Costa Rica because we can enjoy all those magnificent wonder of nature in a very short piece of land.

Room Tip: Want to be hypnotize by the sounds of nature, get the rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel was great! Originally we were staying for one night but stayed for two and didn't want to leave! Convenient location. Very nice place and a extremely hospitable owner Mario(my wife and I called him SUPER Mario!) He was fantastic! He created a very welcoming atmosphere. Recommended and helped making reservations for White Water Rafting and Zip-Lining which was one in a life time experience! He also let us use his discount with those attractions. Helped us find a coffee tours and was extremely helpful with everything.
One time he was cooking a diner for his guests and we just stopped by to chat and share our adventures. We started asking him about his garden of many exotic fruits that grow on the property. When we mentioned that we never tried a fresh coconut off the tree - he suddenly left and came back with a machete! Here's the video of that: http://youtu.be/dytuwLZLFEI
Enjoyed our stay very much! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,575 reviews
6.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
10.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing