We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our favorite place to stay during our Costa Rican adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay during our Costa Rican adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was great in every way. We stayed during the rainy season (October). The hotel was very affordable ($40/night), quiet, very comfortable and restful. Breakfast was included, and it was delicious - gallo pinto, huevos revueltos, lots of fresh fruit, freshly-made fruit juice, coffee, toast. There's a nice pool and a creek that meanders along the back of the property which has beautifully kept lawns and gardens and lots of fruit trees and flowers. My boyfriend and I both agreed that one of the best parts of our trip to Lavas de Arenal was Mario, the owners' son-in-law who runs the hotel. He made breakfast for us every morning, was very nice and helpful and extremely welcoming. He helped us to book a hotel in Manuel Antonio for later on in the trip and arranged a tour/zip line for us. As this was our first stop on our trip, it really set a good tone for the rest of the trip.

Keep in mind that the hotel is ~5km outside of town. This was a plus for us since we rented a car. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the busy and touristy La Fortuna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    101
    44
    24
    12
See reviews for
88
174
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were greeted by Mario a very helpful person who immediately was able to answer all our questions. Gave us a tour of the hotel and the amenities and prepared a wonder meal for us. We ate in a lovely patio outdoors where we enjoyed watching beautiful birds and a nice breeze envelope us in this little piece of tranquility and nature. We asked for suggestions and were given the rapids of Sarapiqui and the Baldi Hot Springs both of which we enjoyed to the fullest! We enjoyed the time there, the pool was clean, clean sheets, room was nice and roomy, it was clean, we could see Mario takes great care of the property and wanted to accommodate us well. I would return to it just for the beauty, hospitality and cleanliness. It was affordable and peaceful. We also made great conversation with a lovely worker, Ever.

Room Tip: It is clean, spacious, friendly and affordable. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 178Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Enjoyed a perfect stay in this Gem of a place. Mario and his family attended to our needs each and every time we needed it. They were very helpful that we felt we were around family. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, that it made our vacation more pleasant and enjoyable. They serve an excellent breakfast surrounded by luscious flowers and various fruit trees. One feels like we are eating in a jungle paradise. On our next trip to the Arenal, we are once again staying in The Lavas del Arenal. I highly recommend this hotel to all visitors of the Arenal.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a great location. The scenery is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lavas del Arenal is a real treat. It's 10-15 minutes outside of La Fortuna, the largest town closest to the Arenal volcano, known for its "hanging bridges," among other things. The hotel would be a tad difficult to find without a GPS, but the place is splendid. As I can see from previous reviews, Mario (and family) really know how to make travelers feel at home. Drive onto the property, and you're in a little sanctuary. A beautiful lawn & garden complete with two separate grill areas and a pool. Mario will help you make reservations at discount prices for whatever local attractions you'd like to see, and serve up a delicious breakfast to boot. His father-in-law is a very friendly person, and provided you speak a little Spanish, will surely introduce you to Tico culture. The A/C is a bit underpowered, but if that doesn't faze you, I highly recommend Lavas del Arenal. It was a very homey experience - but at the same time, the service was very professional. The rooms were very clean and you can tell that the entire property is well-maintained. 4.5 out of 5 stars in my book.

Room Tip: Rooms are more or less identical - the ones farther in back are closer to the pool & grill areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank name l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Mario and his family were so friendly and helpful, they made us feel like family. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the property is gorgeous, fruit falling off the trees, lovely birds all around. They also serve an awesome breakfast. It's not right downtown, so it's totally tranquil and lush. I recommend it to anyone going to La Fortuna, and I'll definitely go back. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay Mario was a very good host. The place was like livivng in a garden of paradise, Ever the gardner was very friendly taking us on a tour of the place showing us the different plants and fruit and the peaceful bubbling little stream in the back of the property. The breakfast was very Tico, it was all just wonderful. The accomodations were just as good, very nice rooms. They were doing some upgrades while we were there so it will be even greater. The best was the wonderful view of Arenal Volcano, the day was very clear.

Room Tip: One level all seemed to be as good as the other. We stayed in room 10 near the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a lovely place. We were so warmly welcomed when we arrived. The grounds are so well kept and we got to see toucans in the trees. The breakfasts were fabulous. I was not feeling well one day and Gabriel took me to the doctors and stayed with me the entire time.
Can not say enough good things about this place. It is off the beaten track, which is exactly what we were looking for. Would love to go back and visit once again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.7 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#23 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Property: Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing