We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“this is the place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Mario and his family were so friendly and helpful, they made us feel like family. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the property is gorgeous, fruit falling off the trees, lovely birds all around. They also serve an awesome breakfast. It's not right downtown, so it's totally tranquil and lush. I recommend it to anyone going to La Fortuna, and I'll definitely go back. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    104
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
93
180
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay Mario was a very good host. The place was like livivng in a garden of paradise, Ever the gardner was very friendly taking us on a tour of the place showing us the different plants and fruit and the peaceful bubbling little stream in the back of the property. The breakfast was very Tico, it was all just wonderful. The accomodations were just as good, very nice rooms. They were doing some upgrades while we were there so it will be even greater. The best was the wonderful view of Arenal Volcano, the day was very clear.

Room Tip: One level all seemed to be as good as the other. We stayed in room 10 near the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a lovely place. We were so warmly welcomed when we arrived. The grounds are so well kept and we got to see toucans in the trees. The breakfasts were fabulous. I was not feeling well one day and Gabriel took me to the doctors and stayed with me the entire time.
Can not say enough good things about this place. It is off the beaten track, which is exactly what we were looking for. Would love to go back and visit once again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived at this little hideaway, and were surprised. There was no real "office" to speak of, instead the owner just walked out with our room keys in hand. He took us to our rooms, and then gave us a personal guided tour of the property. Told is all about the delicious fruits that they grow, even getting some for us to sample. He showed us where to look for certain birds (toucans, etc), and when they would most likely be visible.
The next morning we woke up to the gardener having caught a blue jean dart frog for us to see, because when they mentioned them the day before I was very excited to hopefully see one. Then he pointed out an arisari toucan in the tree. While we ate our complimentary breakfast (which was delicious), we were also being shown all kinds of different birds that frequent the property.
All in all, very pleased with the stay, it was such a pleasant experience. We will definitely be back. Highly recommend this to anyone who isn't expecting anything grand but wants a very friendly, typical costa rican hospitality. Oh, the rooms have ac that works incredibly well...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhj924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Quiet, well-kept, and clean room and grounds. Pool area and landscaping/breakfast area are beautiful. Rooms themselves are small but they do offer a small fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. A few couples were there with small children when we were there and the sound travels a bit : )

Overall, great little place and a good value. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I just put down the facts and you can decide :)

+ nice owner
+ cheaper tickets to Baldi than from the door
+ they can arrange trips to you
+ swimming pool, breakfast, wifi in the lobby
+ there is a river near by where you can swim
+ really clean room, hot water, fridgerator, microwave oven, coffee maker

- owner doesn't speak English
- location is far from city, but that's not a problem with a car
- wifi doesn't work in the room, only lobby

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Lavas del Arenal. It's a nice small hotel with only a few rooms, but they all have a fridge and microwave (no tv) and the w-ifi was working fine. We really liked the beautiful quiet location of the hotel. We also loved the gardens with swimming pool and the little creek that's running through the back of the property. The open breakfast area was beautiful and the breakfast was pretty good, especially the coffee! It was kind of challenging placing your order, as we don't speak Spanish and the staff doesn't speak English, but that's the fun part of going on vacation.
The hotel is on a dirt road, just off the main road. Before you decide to book this hotel, make sure you know how you will get around, as you will need a taxi or rental car to get to La Fortuna, it's a bit of a drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.4 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#36 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#28 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
10.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#24 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Property: Hotel Lavas del Arenal
Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing