We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$474
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$109
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
346
131
52
35
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
131
52
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavashgoogle translategroupon packageadrenaline tourmini fridge and microwavefoosball tablescosta ricahot watersmall creekevery morningrice and beanstaxi ridepura vidathe hotel managersmall poolbaldi hot springswhite water rafting
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 581 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

this place is great if you need somewhere simple and cheap. the beds to me were fairly comfortable. room included a microwave, minifridge, and coffee maker (BYOC). The shower is kind of weird because you have to play with the water pressure to get the water warm or cold (goes through some sort of gadget to warm it up). my boyfriend was very concerned about the exposed wire. The AC is very loud...and the windows don't open (my only two complaints), but it gets very gross in there if you don't run it. The pool was kind of a plus for us while choosing a place to stay, but we never ended up using it. we were busy during the day and at night there are a bunch of frogs inside (kind of fun to go out there with a flashlight). breakfast is simple, eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, and papaya juice. i was sick the first morning, throwing up and all, and the owner was nice enough to give my boyfriend toast for me. the internet worked fine the whole time, and the landscape is very beautiful. you can see the volcano from the front of the property, and is about 10 or so minutes from town. kind of hard to find but we went up the last road before the main street turns one way and it's on a dirt road off of that street ( theres a small sign that says "lavas del arenal 5 minutos")

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Ligia and Gabriel ~ they are what ALL hotel, motel and B&B owners should strive for! We stayed for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and we felt like we were with family. From the awesome breakfast, where Ligia cooks and her staff serve you first with coffee, juice and a fruit plate, and then eggs & toast, sitting outside listening to the Toucans and other birds! While we were there, Gabriel chopped open coconuts for all to drink coconut water...I know that, had he had little umbrellas, he would've supplied them!! They both go the extra mile to ensure your stay is everything you dreamed of! Communication was a little rough at first, but by the 2nd day, with help from my phone translator, we made it work, and sooo many laughs in the process! Taxi service is cheaper going through Ligia, and she connected me with a woman on the phone who spoke good English to make excursion plans (canyon zip-lining and ATV were not too far, and we had a blast!). Our room had 1 queen-sized bed and 3 twins, refrig, shower stall. Of course there are Cons in every situation, so for this resort, it would be the hot water was a puzzle: the less you turned the nozzle, the hotter it was (but they DO have hot water!); and the pool area is surrounded by palm trees and other plants and tall trees, which dropped leaves into the pool, making it appear it wasn't tended to. When it came time to leave, I couldn't hold back the tears any longer and just cried...... If this had more stars, they'd definitely get them! START PACKING NOW!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 47Kulta47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Owners are very enthusiastic and really want you to have a great time in CR. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good, with gallo pinto, eggs, ham, toast and fruit.
Don't have much negative points to share. Maybe the AC was a bit loud and the shower (hot water) is a bit tricky. It's also like 5 miles out of La Fortuna, so there really is nothing to do around. You'll definately need a car. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Nov 17th-20th and we couldn't have been happier or felt more at home. (So much so that I feel awful that it took me this long to write this review!) Ligia and Gabriel were just the sweetest people and the property is beautiful. It is somewhat off the beaten path but we rented a car so it wasn't a problem for us - we were happy to be surrounded by nature and away from the noise of La Fortuna. The room and the grounds are immaculate and the service cannot be beat. If we had an early excursion, Ligia offered to make us breakfast at 630AM so we wouldn't go hungry. (And it was delicious and the setting is beautiful.) The rooms are modern and so pretty and so clean. Ligia even took the time to hang clothes that we left on the bed when she cleaned the room. We don't speak any Spanish, but it wasn't a problem, because anytime there was a language issue, Ligia called her son in Miami and he speaks perfect English. This was our third trip to Costa Rica, but our first trip to La Fortuna and I can only hope that we return to La Fortuna in the future because I would LOVE to stay there again - We felt like family. Merry Christmas to Ligia and Gabriel and your familyl!!! <3, Stephen and Joy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammy4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is run by extremely nice folks, Ligia and Gabriel. Make you feel right at home. Not much english spoken but Mario who is stateside can assist. My stay lasted 8 days and was very quiet. The rooms are simpe but nice and Mario assures me the TV's are on the way so that you can catch your favorite sport. The internet can get spotty but usually it's available. If you aren't renting a car you are a $6/8 dollar taxi ride from the city, less than 10 minutes. Check around town for your tour prices as there seem to be wide varations. Also, most important as La Fortuna is 3 hours away from SJO ask Mario to help arrange transport so that you don't have to drop $150 to the airport pirates. TIP: If you can make arrangements with an outfit called Interbus to pick you up at a near the airport hotel (they don't pick up at the airport) the trip will cost $40 per person to La Fortuna from San Jose.
Enjoy your vacation, PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed suitable.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews