We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$106
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$109
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
346
131
52
35
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
131
52
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavashgoogle translategroupon packageadrenaline tourmini fridge and microwavefoosball tablescosta ricahot watersmall creekevery morningrice and beanstaxi ridepura vidathe hotel managersmall poolbaldi hot springswhite water rafting
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 581 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We so appreciate everyone at Lavas del Arenal! Ligia set up all the BEST adventures. After talking with other tourists and some of the guides, we found that each activity booked by Ligia was the best to be had. And we did it all! After fishing, Ligia even made a fantastic dinner for us with our catch! We'd stay at Lavas del Arenal again in a heartbeat, the service and breakfasts can't be beat! Since our spanish isn't the greatest, we partially communicated our needs to Mario via email. This worked out great! Ligia, Mario and Gabriel make this small hotel and absolute gem!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semperfischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a simple hotel/resort. The kids enjoy the small pool.Very good service. Helped us in the middle of the night to call Copa airlines when our laggeges didn't arrive.It was no problem to get breakfast very early because we had to leave . Breakfast was very good. They have Wifi in the room. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Basically, the room wasn't too bad and the grounds were well maintained. The hotel is hard to find and no one has heard of it., so make sure you have good directions. When you do find it you have to drive down a very rocky road to get to the hotel. When we arrived the owner (who must have assumed that we didn't like the place) met us outside waving the bill and saying "no cancel!" The room was simple, the a/c was loud, and there was very little water pressure. But worst of all the toilet in our room did not flush. We tried to explain to the owner, but after returning from a day jet lining we returned to the same clogged toilet and a bad smell. We did not stay the second night. Also FYI, there is no TV or phones in the rooms and the owners do not speak English. Overall this seems to be a ma and pa type hotel, The owners do try to be hospitable, but if you like basic amenities....do not stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpasheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The place itself was nice. But I would not recommend it to people who, like me, like to keep the windows open at night and breath the fresh air. The windows do not open!! So we had to stand the noisy AC all night... and could not sleep well!
The owner is very friendly and tries to help as much as possible, but the wireless Internet could never work!
Breakfast was honest but not memorable.
Not our best!

Evelyne&Pierre

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyne_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed at this facility for three quiet and pleasant nights. Not sure I would call it a hotel; probably the terms villas or motel would be more descriptive. Very nice family owned and operated units (at least eight, maybe twelve units). Clean, quiet, and a great country location. Nice grounds with many beautiful flowers and plants; includes a pool, and a covered BBQ area by a river at the rear of the property. Daily breakfast is included with the rental for all guests in an open air, but fully covered area that would seat at least 20. The hosts were friendly and helpful, but spoke little English.

Pros: Quiet, beautiful grounds, free parking adjacent to your unit, breakfast included, 24 hour Wi-Fi, Pool, good sized rooms, great value, large showers, AC (but seldom needed), refrigerator, coffee maker (but no coffee), microwave, and desk provided.

Cons: NOT A SINGLE TOWEL RACK IN BATHROOMS; NO DRAWERS OR CLOSETS IN ROOMS; located 6km south of LaFortuna (near school area) there is a speed bump just south of the entrance road and another just north; facility is located 400-500 meters west of main road from San Ramon to La Fortuna via a very bumpy gravel road (some could see this as an advantage) one cannot see the facility from the paved main road so must be alert for sign located on west side of the road near bus stop; uncomfortable seat provided for desk, but more comfortable wicker chairs are available in each unit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDLedbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews