We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Wave Expeditions

Wave Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Full Day Class II-III Rafting and Zipline Tour from La Fortuna-Arenal
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and ATV Tour from La Fortuna
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best One-stop Destination for Outdoor Adventure! WAVE Expeditions Adventure Company invites you to explore the famous northern zone of Costa Rica. WAVE Expeditions is BEST option for all your favorite outdoor activites in one location. Arenal is the one stop destination for Rafting, Canyoning, Hiking, Wildlife, Canopy, Biking and much more! WAVE Expeditions has earned a reputation for professionalism, organization, and high quality trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice guides, kind to us nationals and foreigners. Accessible prices, really good tours and overall a day I would love to repeat. Super recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jancz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,519
    89
    17
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked all of our adventures through waves and they where so very helpful and nice! We also rafters with them on the balsa river and it was absolutely fantastic!!! Great company to work with, friendly, professional and fun!!!! Definitely a highlight if our trip!!!

Helpful?
Thank coethiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day White Water Rafting on the Rio Toro!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose to do class 3 and 4 white water rafting on the rio Toro and it didn't fail to disappoint! Gerald was our tour guide and was absolutely brilliant! Whilst being safety conscious, we didn't feel restricted, and he just made the whole experience a really fun and exciting day out. Transport was included to the river, we stopped on the way at Iguana Bridge to see wild Iguanas up close and get an Ice Cream for breakfast if you so wish!, and then set off down the river! Beautiful scenery all of the way and just a fantastic ride. We stopped at a quiet point of the river and were allowed to have a swim if we wanted, we then carried on and stopped a little later for fresh fruit refreshments before finishing the trip. Gerald even pointed out wildlife such as monkeys along the way. Our safety Kayaker Johan was on hand to rescue any fallen members as well as take pictures along the way, which were then available to purchase on our return. On our trip our raft did try to flip when it got stuck on a boulder and both myself and boyfriend fell into the river. Although going for a little swim down the rapids, Johan was on hand to rescue! Given Gerald's earlier explanation about the different monkeys in Costa Rica, I was then known as the 'white faced monkey'!! And finally on return to the bus, our driver Tom was on hand with cold beers! On the way back we stopped for lunch, a typical rice and beans meal which was great, all within the total price of the tour. We went into the office the next day to purchase the photos and they kindly included a whole folder of Costa Rica Wildlife photos. I can't recommend this company enough, they offer a wide range of different river tours for different levels and abilities and the staff are all great. Couldn't have asked for more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wave Expeditions really goes above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience. They picked us up from our hotel and our guide Gerald and driver Warner were great: we were cracking jokes like old friends in not time during the drive, which included a stop to see the iguanas, to the river. We had an epic trip down the rapids, our raft flipped! However, Gerald took great care of us and we had a blast navigating the rest of the way down the rapids including a stop to do some cliff jumping! Afterwards, they had fruit and beers ready for us and even took us by a local restaurant (great food!) on the ride back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eosgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We not only had a great time rafting, we also got to have a great local meal with our rafting team and the guides. Afterward we got a short cultural lesson on sugar cane production that included moonshine. Outstanding tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wave Expeditions also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Wave Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing