We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome whitewater experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wave Expeditions

Wave Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Full Day Class II-III Rafting and Zipline Tour from La Fortuna-Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best One-stop Destination for Outdoor Adventure! WAVE Expeditions Adventure Company invites you to explore the famous northern zone of Costa Rica. WAVE Expeditions is BEST option for all your favorite outdoor activites in one location. Arenal is the one stop destination for Rafting, Canyoning, Hiking, Wildlife, Canopy, Biking and much more! WAVE Expeditions has earned a reputation for professionalism, organization, and high quality trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome whitewater experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lots of great whitewater rafting on this trip. The guides were excellent and the tour lasted around 3 hours or so, which was plenty since it was a fair amount of padding. We were there in the dry season so I understand the water gets even higher and faster in the rainy season.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeKnudstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,432
    87
    16
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great tour company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked several excursions through Wave Expeditions/Kensington Tours and were very happy with all of them. They were all fairly priced and provided good value. One was a hike at Arenal volcano. Our guide, Gerald, and driver, Christian, were stars, spotting interesting sights and animals for us and providing an educational and entertaining experience. We also went on the Canoe Negro tour of Rio Frio. Another great day -- even the included lunch was good. These companies also provided private transportation for us between airports and resorts. Everyone was prompt, professional and personable. I highly recommend these companies.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best experiences we had in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rafting in Costa Rica was at the top of my list and I am SO glad my friend and I went with Wave Expeditions. We had a freakin' blast, the guides (specifically Herman and Jairo) were enthusiastic, kept us safe, and, you could tell, truly loved their jobs, which made for one of the best experiences we had in Costa Rica!

Not only did we get to raft, we were able to stop off at a small waterfall to get a drink, jump off a cliff and some rocks, eat a snack of fresh and delicious fruit mid-way through the trip, and finish it off with an amazing lunch.

A CD of pictures is available for purchase a few hours after you get back from your trip and, my friend and I decided to buy it. Carlos, who helped us get the pictures, was so friendly and nice.

If you go rafting in this area, definitely go with Wave Expeditions. They know what they're doing and they'll give you an experience of a lifetime!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Kayaking the Arenal river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ariel & Eduardo from Wave were awesome guides on a great trip down the Arenal. We went with 3 teenage girls, myselff and my wife, and had a perfect time. The guides got us out of any and all tight spots, shared thiet knowledge of the river, and at the end, they set us up at The Springs Resort --after giving us a tour of the wild cat rescue center.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pzblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rio Balsa Rafting Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Wave Expeditions group is an excellent rafting experience on the Rio Balsa. There are three big rafting companies in La Fortuna that do the same trip and we think this tour was better because of the additional experience they provide. They are very easy to book directly with - www.waveexpeditions.com - This was an all day activity and a highlight of the trip.


They put in further up the river and end further down - so you get more of the experience. Plus where they end the trip is private, has a bathroom and changing room, the others did not, so this felt very secure.

The tour company was on time for pick up - Geraldo was the guide and he was an excellent guide on the bus ride to the launch area - they stopped during the 25 minute ride at a wonderful roadside shop with very clean facilities an abundant selection of fruits and sweets - great place for a snack to take with you.

*Special note - if you get a chance to taste the Palm Peach veg simmering on the stove - try it - amazing local food - savory, delicious squash like veg - Ive never had something so simple and delicious!
When we arrived at the launch, a 5 minute walk to the river where we met the guides - we got lucky with TOM (like Tom Cruise he tells us) The Rio Balsa is a 2/3 tour and its is something that anyone healthy could do. Our raft was my husband and me, skilled rafters, and a mother with her 3 young daughter who have never rafted. With Toms skills and easy nature, we were able to get down the river with lots of excitement and in very good hands!

He was a very talented guide, knowledgeable about the river and was able to point out several sloths in the trees, a toucan and he even found a blue jean frog river side to share with us. He knew so much about the area - it was a bonus to go with his rafting skills.

At the end of the rafting, we went to a very special lunch location - it was quite a delightful surprise and added to the adventure. As some reviewers complained, this was a late lunch but they do give you a snack on the river and this lunch was so delicious, its worth the wait. If you are someone that gets hungry - bring a hearty snack for on the river !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wave Expeditions also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Wave Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing