We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Brasitas

Las Brasitas
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Saint Joseph Mi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

went on a recommendation from a local driver...was ok but if I had to do it over again I would have put up with the wiat to get into on of the hotel recommendations.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    107
    77
    40
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fine, but nothing very special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took a taxi from our hotel to get to the town to eat at a little more local flavor. It was fine. Nothing terribly special, and we were right on the main road.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c0l0rad0family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch in between some hiking excursions. The staff was friendly and fun and the food was great. We were looking for a simple rum drink to have with our meal, and the waiter suggested rum and passion fruit juice, which is what he brought us - complete with a large flower on the base of each glass! Give the place a try if you're in La Fortuna.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrozenFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natick MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good mexican fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We got the pork tacos appetizer that was seasoned in a very interesting tart deep red rub. The chicken quesadilla dinner was large and filling. It was a very typical traditional mexican meal. Nothing wowed us but we very much enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank doveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great service and sangria!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We ate here for lunch and left STUFFED! We started off with Sangria in the pitcher, which really was too much for us and was quite expensive, but it was very good. It was also served in very beautifully decorated glasses with a flower wrapped around the base of mine and a long green leaf on his. If you only get a glass of the stuff, DO if you like sangria...it was worth it.

We had the queso with chorizo and it was served with tortillas and he also asked if we wanted chips too which we did. He also offered to heat it up again for us since it was starting to cool off and became hard to handle. It was nothing super special, but it was good.

For lunch we split the mixed fajitas (chicken, shrimp and beef) which was served with black refried beans and hot sauce. He asked if we wanted jalepenos which we did and that worked well with it. It did not come with guacamole which typically something like this does. It may have cost extra.

I was looking forward to trying the flour tortillas but wasn't impressed with them (CR doesn't use them typically) and the corn weren't great, but good enough for the queso.

Overall we were happy and I did not want to eat dinner that night. WAY too full!! The bill came to $66, with the sangria being the bulk of that around $25 for the pitcher.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotrodgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Brasitas also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Las Brasitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing