We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Mexican in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Brasitas

Las Brasitas
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New York, NY USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice open air restaurant. Food and service is great. It was a nice change to have great mexican food in costa rica. Huge menu selections. The sangria and coconut flan were awesome. Great meal!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GATTERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    89
    72
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was delicious and reasonably priced. The steak dinner was delicious. Wait staff was excellent and explained the food selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CacheGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good I went back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean.
Our meals Began with Imperial, the Costa Rica beer, chips and pico.
I ordered pollo Casado. The typical dish of Costa Rican menus.
The chicken was divine with a smokey and slightly sweet hint. The sides were typical rice and beans. The vegetable were different from day to day. potatoes one night and green beens the next were the best ever.
My husband had plantain empanadas that were delicious.
They serve Plentiful portions.
The service was great and even was understanding when I made an error in ordering.

This simple, generous meal topped off with coconut flan.

I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

You will NOT walk away hungry! Completely different from the Americanized version of Mexican food, but oh so good, good variety on the menu, portions were huge, open and airy with very friendly waitstaff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Las Brasitas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very expensive and not very good food. It is supposed to be Mexican food in Costa Rica. This is the first restaurant we tried in La Fortuna. We went there because it was full so we thought the food would be good. If you go there opt for the more traditional foods like steak, rice and beans. Don't opt for the mexican options because it wasn't good. Traveled on August 24th 2013.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMiamiGirl305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Brasitas also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Las Brasitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing