We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal
Reviewed April 9, 2014

There is a new person in charge of the hotel. He speaks English really well and is working hard to make this place comfortable for its guests. The location is wonderful for those who travel with a car (I am not sure about public transportation there). It is in the middle of a farm, so only nature around you! It is right in front of Volcano Arenal (enjoy the view!) and a very short drive to local attractions (the National Park entrance, Sky Trek, Observatory Lodge etc). Slight noise from the road can be heard during the day but it is very quiet during the night. We stayed for 2 nights and truly enjoyed it!

Wi-Fi worked excellently everywhere, even near the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_Bogdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

New owner since 2 months, maïno, very attentive. He bring us breakfast with fresh local fruits and coffee everymorning. He book for us the canopy and canoyning. Very good price for a nice and large room !!! Go and enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pheiser611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

When trying to find out information on trip advisor about this hotel the last great review was for 2009 and so my husband and I took the plunge and booked a cabin here for 2 nights as part of a 3 week stay in Costa Rica. It was the worst place we stayed. When we arrived at the cabins, the lady on reception (who was not Carmen I had e-mailed) couldn't speak any english and we couldn't work out whether our reservation was okay until she walked off with a key and intimated for us to follow. The cabin seemed fine and was in a perfect position for a view of the normally lava-flowing side of the volcano (please note that there is no mention anywhere before you go, but the lava hasn't flowed for months and apparently the experts are watching it for this reason!). There was a patio set outside to sit and enjoy the view and initially we were pleased with our choice of booking. Shortly after settling into our room, we noticed that some large red ants were coming in under the door and so we had to put a mat underneath it to try and stop them getting in but there were still a few stragglers who got in! We also realised that night that the fact that the door of the cabin had been wide open as we arrived had allowed plenty of bugs to get in and so we had a sleepless night with some huge bugs flying around the room. The following morning we went for breakfast which was pleasant enough and the lady who had greeted us the day before served it. Even though she couldn't speak any english she had a friendly face whilst serving. Be warned though that if it has rained, and as its a farm, it brings out lots of mossies - we had a lot of bites just from our half hour at breakfast. It was pleasant to watch the young son looking after the calves at the farm in the mornings. We spent the day out enjoying the Arenal area on the full day that we were there (unfortunately, for the 2 days we were based at Arenal the volcano was covered in cloud!) and returned to find that our room hadn't been touched or bed made up and we had no fresh towels. In fairness, when we asked for fresh towels we were given them no problem at all, but I think you should be aware that there isn't any real service at the cabins. Also the toilet broke when we were there though it was ingeniously fixed with a bit of rope by the same lady who cooked us breakfast. As far as the pool was concerned, it was only a quarter full when we arrived with leaves in but then it rained overnight and was full the following morning so we didn't go anywhere near the pool! We eventually met Carmen when we left, who again was pleasant but didn't speak much english. We won't be going back to stay at these cabins.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J007T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Almost missed what turned out to be the best small Cabinas stay while in Costa Rica.
Stopped at their restaurant next door before they were opened at 10Am to see if I could get a cup of coffee. Not only did they get me coffee, Carmen the mom took me into the kitchen and let me put it in my Thermos with milk and sugar myself. Not speaking much Spanish (Gracias) we managed to ask if they knew somewhere in the area close to the volcano to spend the night. They rented Cabinas and we were shown the cleanest rooms, pool, and best view of Arenal even after spending the nite before in one of the best view expensive hotels. Delightful family, took me to their farm and this city girl got to help milk cows..neat..
Parrots awoke us next AM early so we opened door and right above our heads the clouds were clearing over Arenal . So close we were able to hope in car and drive around back of Arenal to get marvelous pictures then returned to Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal for a home cooked breakfast and started our day. No surprise that the view from our porch was the best we found in La Fortuna and spent many hours sitting and enjoying this close up spectacle.
Dinner at their retaurant was excellent and decided to stay an extra day . Kids would love the farm animals they easily can see, and the pool after a long day was delightful. We will return as this easily could be our home base for much more exploring. Tourist Info Center right across the street so we really lucked out on much good info. and help.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiesty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Leer los comentarios.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank Analoreleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank francisco a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#45 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
3.0 mi away
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
#13 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Cabinas Los Guayabos
#30 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
37 reviews
2.1 mi away
GreenLagoon Arenal Waterfall Villas
GreenLagoon Arenal Waterfall Vil...
#40 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Faro Arenal
Hotel Faro Arenal
#21 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal

Address: 8km west from Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos ., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Cabinas Lumbres Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing