We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Choza Inn Hostel
costa rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff and nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed in the Choza Inn for 2 nights and, since it was raining nonstop we ended up spending days with the staff and in the hostel, The kitchen was nice and there was cable TV which helped us alot during the rain. The staff speaks perfect English and were very nice.The rooms were clean and comfy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    69
    43
    11
    13
See reviews for
14
55
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I took a jeep-boat-jeep (best way to go) from Monteverde to La Fortuna without an idea of where we would stay. During the second 'jeep' ride our driver and I chatted in Spanglish. I mentioned we were looking for a room for a few nights on the cheap-mid range so he took us to La Choza. (It was not a coincidence that the company that ran the jeep-b-jeep, Eagle Tours, operates out of La Choza.) If you can say one thing about the guys who run the hotel its that they are connected. There must have been 30 guys in green 'Eagle'-branded shirts coming and going from the premises. There are a lot of people to answer your questions or book your tours, there is always someone behind the desk and they do speak english for you non-spanish-speakers. (On that note, I think there was more ingles que espanol in CR- an unhappy development for those of us who travel to experience Different cultures.)

Moving on...our room was clean when we got to it. It didn't receive much attention in the way of cleaning during our 2 day/ 2 night stay; but in their defense the boyfriend was sick so I had asked them to come back later which could have been mistranslated into not needing the service altogether. The kitchen communal area is great- free internet, couches, tv, tons of dishes, big fridge. Nice outside sitting area.

I will say that it doesn't have much character as far as art, personality or color goes. So if you are looking for an original experience this isn't your place. It was just like any other hotel, not much style and the guests weren't bubbling over with personality. But for $25 a night for a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and an adorable puppy name Machas! all around it's a great deal. And the people who run it were really great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Everything about the room, comfort and services is top notch but what sets this hotel apart from others is the friendly desire to assist in the enjoyment of the Costa Rican experience. When I thought about river rafting Daniel was concerned about my safety so I did not go on the most rigorous trip. The atmosphere is like Cheers "where everybody know your name". Travel to any of the tropical displays of the Costa Rican experience is only a word away. My next visit in February 2010 will have more time for exploration.
Hope to see you then.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EdKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

La Choza Inn is combinated with Eagle Tours, which will make sure that you get the best out of La Fortuna in any adventuruos way for great prices. We tried alot of fun things while we stayed in La Fortuna because they always offered us fun trips etc. like horsebackriding, Hotspring-bathing, volcano-lawaflow-watching in thew night, hiking through rainforests, watching animals and different parks, canopying etc. It's so easy to order and they just pick you up at a certain time and make sure that you have a good time. Rooms are clean and has everything you need, even TV and fan. Great and cheap roomrates. They can have your laundry done in less than an hour for 2 dollers pr. kilo. There's a fully-equipped kitchen, so you can cook anything from the ingredients that you buy from the malls, which is like 4-5 min. from the place, 'cause of the prefect location. You can even see the Volcano Arenal from the hotel. Great place - you should stay here and also try their trips! Ask for Danny Padilla - a great tourpresenter, and will give you a nice price if you'rre also staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeelaCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#15 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#8 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Choza Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Choza Inn Hostel

Property: La Choza Inn Hostel
Address: Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel backpackers environment, La Choza Inn is a corner of paradise on earth. Located next to Arenal Volcano. in La Fortuna town near all services and attractions. Guests staying at the Hostel backpackers La Choza Inn will be gratified by its ideal location, only a few blocks from landmarks, and just beside the Corocodile Farm. Visitors will be within walking distance to important places such as waterfall, cafes, bars, rock pools, hot springs, National Park, Cerro Chato, restaurants, sodas, banks and casinos await visitors in their Costa Rica vacation while staying in the hotel & hostel -backpackers La Choza Inn in downtown Fortuna. Your stay at this premier hotel & hostel will give you the opportunity at tour desk give to you the whole information and tips of Arenal area, and to enjoy the active Fortuna nightlife after dark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Choza Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Hostel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing