We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Friendly, Helpful and Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Choza Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Choza Inn Hostel
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Helpful and Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff at La Choza was very helpful and friendly and made us feel right at home. (Yuaner at the front desk was especially helpful and went out of his way to help when my father got sick). The prices are very reasonable for what you get which includes free internet, free breakfast and a nice common kitchen - being close to a lot of restaurants and one block away from the two major tour providers in town is nice as well. I would definitely recommend La Choza Inn for independent travelers who want a good deal!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeardogExpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
43
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

I had a lovely four night stay at La Choza Inn. I immediately felt right at home, and lucked out with a shared room all to myself with a view of the volcano. The staff and the family that runs it were all very friendly and helpful. It's a rustic place, which I mean genuinely and not as a euphemism for dirty. The building with the dorms felt like a log cabin. Sure, there were a couple of details that reminded me I was paying $8 a night - a bit of dirtiness here and there, and the bed wasn't very comfortable - but overall I really enjoyed my stay and thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starrynight114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Gerente at La Choza Inn Hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
hello dear starrynigth114

We are pleased to hear that you enjoy your stay at La Choza Inn.
we always like to make the customer feel at home, so our personal and rooms reflect the family feeling.
Thanks also for your advice to help us always to improve, we hope to see you in La Choza
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I took a trip to CR, kind of "winged it", knew we were going to Fortuna but didnt knwo where we would stay. This place was about the best we could have asked for. Clean room with private bathroom, free breakfast, free computer. Walking distance to everything in the town of Fortuna, and the Eagle Tours office and pick up location on site. You could literally do everything in the area from this location... all for $30 a night. Very quiet, 9pm quiet hours, I think... but if you want to party, there are several bars within a few blocks. I've told many people about this place, hope they make the trip to Costa Rica to check it out. Can not say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: We just walked up and asked "how much"?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

The staff at the onsite location of Eagle Tours are fantastic - really helpful, sorted out everything I asked of them, everything happened as agreed and with lots of smiles all round! The guide I had for the one day combination tour (Juan Carlo) was excellent. The rooms are basic and the security wasn't ideal (ground floor room with louvered windows which didn't shut properly plus the other window which was a sold pane of glass was cracked right across so would have been easy to break in). Would not recommend a ground floor room at the front as the noise and light do not lead to a peaceful night's sleep without an eye mask and ear plugs. Breakfast not particularly substantial (cold toast and some fruit). Would recommend La Choza overall though if you're just staying a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_holidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This place is a very good value with a nice location and very friendly staff.

The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but clean and comfortable. There is free wifi, free computer/internet access, and most remarkable, free phone calls to the US (the use the internet I think). The breakfast consists of the usual, coffee, fruit, toast, and best of all, peanut butter.
The on-site travel agency is convenient and reasonably priced (though by no means cheap -- La Fortuna turned out to be a VERY expensive destination).

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

The inn was a great choice. Not too expensive and the service was great! It was within walking distance of desafio adventure which was great since we decided to go with them for the tours and we didn't regret it. Eagle tours is also run out of choza inn and I would highly recommend using them for the volcano hike if you choose to do it because they were cheapest and the tour kind of stinks either way- being crowded and touristy it's really not a hike.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Eagle Tours runs its operations out of this "hostel". My room was $25/night and was clean and adequate for a solo traveler. Not sure you would want to bring too much luggage - you would feel crowded. But the convenience of being within walking distance of restaurants, banks and town for that kind of money is great. I stayed 3 nights and took a tour arranged by Eagle Tours each day. I especially recommend the Cano Negro trip. The guides are excellent - cordial, informative and seemingly terribly interested in you having the best time in Costa Rica. There is also a kitchen for your use (thus the hostel designation) and community space with TV. But there is so much to see and so little time ! Who wants to sit in front of a television? Internet Access in the lobby.
I would recommend this hotel to people who don't need frills.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 69 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Las Palmas
Cabinas Las Palmas
#22 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Choza Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Choza Inn Hostel

Property: La Choza Inn Hostel
Address: Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel backpackers environment, La Choza Inn is a corner of paradise on earth. Located next to Arenal Volcano. in La Fortuna town near all services and attractions. Guests staying at the Hostel backpackers La Choza Inn will be gratified by its ideal location, only a few blocks from landmarks, and just beside the Corocodile Farm. Visitors will be within walking distance to important places such as waterfall, cafes, bars, rock pools, hot springs, National Park, Cerro Chato, restaurants, sodas, banks and casinos await visitors in their Costa Rica vacation while staying in the hotel & hostel -backpackers La Choza Inn in downtown Fortuna. Your stay at this premier hotel & hostel will give you the opportunity at tour desk give to you the whole information and tips of Arenal area, and to enjoy the active Fortuna nightlife after dark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Choza Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Hostel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing