We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Choza Inn Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$134
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$247
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$200
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$465
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$88
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
55
83
54
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
83
54
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roommixed dormbreakfast includeddormitory roombig kitchenroom was cleanhostel offersfree hot springbudget staybook your toursoffer toursnice breakfastfree tourjuice and coffeegravel roadnice place to stayclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 225 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I took a trip to CR, kind of "winged it", knew we were going to Fortuna but didnt knwo where we would stay. This place was about the best we could have asked for. Clean room with private bathroom, free breakfast, free computer. Walking distance to everything in the town of Fortuna, and the Eagle Tours office and pick up location on site. You could literally do everything in the area from this location... all for $30 a night. Very quiet, 9pm quiet hours, I think... but if you want to party, there are several bars within a few blocks. I've told many people about this place, hope they make the trip to Costa Rica to check it out. Can not say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: We just walked up and asked "how much"?
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtbrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The staff at the onsite location of Eagle Tours are fantastic - really helpful, sorted out everything I asked of them, everything happened as agreed and with lots of smiles all round! The guide I had for the one day combination tour (Juan Carlo) was excellent. The rooms are basic and the security wasn't ideal (ground floor room with louvered windows which didn't shut properly plus the other window which was a sold pane of glass was cracked right across so would have been easy to break in). Would not recommend a ground floor room at the front as the noise and light do not lead to a peaceful night's sleep without an eye mask and ear plugs. Breakfast not particularly substantial (cold toast and some fruit). Would recommend La Choza overall though if you're just staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_holidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This place is a very good value with a nice location and very friendly staff.

The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but clean and comfortable. There is free wifi, free computer/internet access, and most remarkable, free phone calls to the US (the use the internet I think). The breakfast consists of the usual, coffee, fruit, toast, and best of all, peanut butter.
The on-site travel agency is convenient and reasonably priced (though by no means cheap -- La Fortuna turned out to be a VERY expensive destination).

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The inn was a great choice. Not too expensive and the service was great! It was within walking distance of desafio adventure which was great since we decided to go with them for the tours and we didn't regret it. Eagle tours is also run out of choza inn and I would highly recommend using them for the volcano hike if you choose to do it because they were cheapest and the tour kind of stinks either way- being crowded and touristy it's really not a hike.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Eagle Tours runs its operations out of this "hostel". My room was $25/night and was clean and adequate for a solo traveler. Not sure you would want to bring too much luggage - you would feel crowded. But the convenience of being within walking distance of restaurants, banks and town for that kind of money is great. I stayed 3 nights and took a tour arranged by Eagle Tours each day. I especially recommend the Cano Negro trip. The guides are excellent - cordial, informative and seemingly terribly interested in you having the best time in Costa Rica. There is also a kitchen for your use (thus the hostel designation) and community space with TV. But there is so much to see and so little time ! Who wants to sit in front of a television? Internet Access in the lobby.
I would recommend this hotel to people who don't need frills.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews