We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came at night”

Ecotermales Fortuna
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$152.00*
and up
Combination Tour with Hanging Bridges Waterfall Volcano Hike and Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The family owned and operated natural hot springs, which allow only a limited number of guests each day, provide a private, relaxing oasis during your vacation.There are five pools, one with a cascading waterfall, which reach up to 108 degrees Fahrenheit. There is no better way to unwind after a long day than by visiting the hot springs and treating your body to its naturally replenishing effects. When taking a break from the soothing hot springs, you can dine in the authentic, home-style Costa Rican restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We came at night”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It rained every day while we were at Volcan Arenal. This is one of the activities we really enjoyed. After a full day, we decided to come here to have dinner and enjoy the natural springs. I don't know what it looks like during the day, but it was stunning at night. And of course, the hot springs were fabulous. So relaxing!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    464
    103
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thermal hot springs”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

They have set times that you can stay in the resort, we opted for the evening 5-9pm. It cost us about $34 for the both of us. They supply towels and have plenty of sun loungers and a bar for you to relax.

The only issue I found was that once dark you could not really see under the water so missed my stepping a couple of times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend an evening”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the meal option. We discovered that we probably had allowed too much time for relaxing in the springs and we went to our table a bit earlier - the accommodated us, no problem. The springs are very relaxing, varying in temperatures. Drinks are good and reasonably priced. You get a towel and a locker upon arrival. Meal was very tasty. A lovely way to spend an evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came in expecting more pools. Found it very small with bus loads of people to contend with. Not much to do. Didn't feel a big difference in the temperatures of the pools. It doesn't look natural like I heard some of the other springs in the area are. I didn't like how it felt like I was just in a basic pool. I would try elsewhere next time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traceytavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A natural feeling hot spring”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed Ecotermales for what it is - a family run, natural, less crowded option to the disneylandesk other hot springs in the area. The service was not the best when we visited but they were accommodating even after we realized there was a mix-up and we were expected at a different time slot. The food was the same you can find at any Soda in Costa Rica, "Tipico" but good none the less. So some advice might be to eat food in town before you come so you only pay a fraction of the price. The hot pools are few when compared to the "largest hot springs in the world" across the street but how many pools do you really need? The water is just as hot and the drinks are cheaper. There is guaranteed to be less people as they only let in a certain number of people, I think around 100? The whole property has a more natural feel because all the structures are volcanic and concrete as opposed to the imported stone and elaborate concrete sculptures of other places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToddwWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecotermales Fortuna also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecotermales Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing