We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about PERFECT for La Fortuna Costa Rica!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Beautiful hotel, very trendy, upscale, beautiful view of the volcano! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very well appointed and lounge like. The rooms are also huge and the bedding of exceptional quality. This hotel would be a 4+ to 5 star hotel in most parts of the world. The only draw backs is that was a bit slow in traffic. At night both the lava lounge and the pool were almost empty. This is not a "night life" hot spot. But very quiet. Probably due to the time of year we were there. The pools are awesome, and the swim up bar is great!. The front desk was helpful in arranging transportation into town for dinners. Breakfast at the hotel was very good and there was no need to seek breakfast elsewhere. The in-room morsels at night were excellent as is the Latte! The spa massage is really special, take advantage of it while you are there, it is worth it! The massage was good, but the private hot pool, the service, the waiting area, all very very nice. Perfect after a day WWR or climbing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

Even before we arrived the staff was friendly, efficient, and extremely helpful with helping us plan our activities, transportation, etc. Unfortunately, I got in an ATV accident on the trip. Every single person from the bell boys to the spa manager not only took care of me, but even checked up afterward. Aside from the hospitality, the facility was relaxing, clean, and the best value for your money in all of La Fortuna/Arenal. I recommend this hotel 100000%

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmtraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Royal Corin. The Master Suite was very large and plush. The king size bed was heavenly . . . we wanted to take the over-sized pillows home. The staff provided anything and everything we requested. One of the staff even gave my companion fresh batteries for her camera. The room service was prompt and cheerful. It is what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We did not want to leave. If you are looking for luxury near the Arenal region, the Royal Corin is at the top of the list.

The closet space was just adequate for two people. I wish the hotel had an exercise facility.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I stayed here Mid June 2011 for 3 nights. Beautiful hotel, great location, great price (I believe we paid ~ $110/night) but with limited amenities. All rooms face the volcano and the pool. The pool was naturally heated and had a great swim-up bar, therefore no need to go to any of the hot springs. The hotel served a very nice breakfast buffet and dinner. The room was modern, comfortable, clean and new (I believe the hotel is only a few years old). I was able to get free wireless internet in the lobby and there was one PC connected to the internet that was complimentary for guests to use. I did not use the spa. The front desk and pool bar employees were very friendly and extremely helpful (my jeep had a flat without prompting, they called a maintenance employee to come over and replace the tire).

We drove to La Fortuna nightly - it was approximately a 10 minutes drive. There were many great bars and restaurants to go to. La Fortuna waterfall was approximately 15 minutes away. The hotel is approximately 30 minute drive away from Sky Trek.

If you are looking for a hotel that has a lot of activities at the hotel, don't stay here. If you're looking for a modern, trendy, reasonably priced hotel with great rooms, friendly staff, a beautiful, naturally heated pool that is centrally located between both La Fortuna and Arenal, the Hotel Corin is tough to beat !

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Only stayed for one night but the hot springs and spa were amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCGTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

If you're looking for an upscale experience, terrific service and a great location in La Fortuna, this is your hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Royal Corin four nights in January for his birthday and we absolutely loved it from beginning to end: The hotel arranged our car service from the airport and sent a great driver, Eduardo, who was very prompt, courteous and friendly. (We used him two more times during our visit).

We bought a package deal for roughly $2,000, taxes included, which included 4 nights in the hotel's top-of-the-line room (a Master Suite), breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, 3 spa treatments for each of us and two tours. Everything was fabulous and worth every dollar.

We were originally scheduled to arrive at San Jose Airport around 12 noon. But because of a snafu at the airport in New Jersey, we had to take a later flight, which landed in San Jose at about 8 p.m. The hotel is about a 2 hour 15 minute drive from there. So at first I was bummed, thinking we wasted money and wouldn't even get dinner that night, since the hotel's restaurant stops serving dinner at 10 pm. But then, a manager at the hotel called our driver’s cell phone while we were enroute and asked us what we'd like to eat for dinner. He said he'd make sure we had meals waiting for us, and indeed he did. That was a very nice touch that we really appreciated. Not to mention the seafood creation whipped up by the chef was totally delicious.

The hotel itself makes a nice first impression: elegant lobby, beautiful chandeliers everywhere, and a handsome courtyard leading out to the main pool and the numerous natural springs connected to it. The pool is so warm and inviting that you'll never want to leave it, especially since there's a nice swim-up bar too. We spent hours at a time out there and enjoyed getting immersed in the springs too, which are heated by the nearby Arenal Volcano. After getting into one of very hot springs, my husband said he felt 20 years younger! :)

Our room was gorgeous: very large, with an amazingly spacious shower, a luxurious two-person jacuzzi with a TV, and a bed that made us want to lounge around all day long. Our room, #309, also featured a nice balcony that overlooked the pool area and the nearby Volcano.

The spa was heavenly too. Very peaceful, great treatments, and also highly service-oriented. The first time we went to the spa we got his-and-her massages for 70 minutes, including a full-body massage and facials. I love that they let couples stay together in the spa, not just for treatments, but afterwards too. Each time we went, we had the whole spa to ourselves: the sauna, jacuzzi, steam room, and an natural spring too. I think when you book time at the spa, they reserve it just for that one couple. It was totally decadent and memorable. After that first visit, our massage therapists told us "We have a drink for you." We were expected some nice tea or ice-cold water. Instead, they indulged us with champagne, candles, fresh strawberries, chocolate and whipped cream -- along with cold water! It was yet another nice and unexpected touch.

For our tours, we chose to do the Safari Float along the Rio Penas Blancas, and the canopy tour/Ecoglide at Arenal Park. On the Safari Float, we saw an amazing variety of plant and animal life, including sloth, howler monkeys, iguanas, and a litany of beautiful birds.

The Ecoglide featured zip lining in the Rain Forest and a heart-stopping Tarzan swing. I was completely scared right before the Tarzan jump, and almost backed out. But I did ultimately go through with it – and was glad I did. That’s a must-do experience!

All in all, this was a phenomenal place to stay in Costa Rica. It's a modern, luxury boutique hotel, complete with marble floors, winding staircases, etc. So you're not going to get a lot of natural wood or some of the "authentic" local decor that may be found in other Costa Rican hotels. But we loved the Hotel Royal Corin just as it was ... and so will you!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnetteCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The pool area was breath taking. The room was very attractive but the armoir/nightstands smelled weird. The mattress was broken down and made us roll to the center...definitely not a "Heavenly Bed." Good pillows and soft sheets. Hated the toilette paper roller. Very attractive modern bathroom but not enough counter space/storage and fancy shower functions did not work. Buffet was average, not what you would expect from that type of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,904 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,915 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,078 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $260 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing