We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I am in my balcony using my phone and free wifi service here to write this. As I am writing, I am looking out at arenal volcano and smoke coming out it's cap. Hotel has been pretty empty during our stay. Service has been exceptional. The natural thermal pools are great. View spectacular. Restaurant in hotel great, but roughly double prices of local spots in town. La fortuna is a 3 min car ride.
I definitley recommend this hotel. Also if you come here:
-rent a car with GPS. Having a car gives you great freedom, and saves you alot of money when you drive ur self to excursion locations. GPS helps me find everything... Roads are ok. We have regular sedan w no problems in rocky roads.
-to do: driving around lake arenal, the narrow road through the jungle is amazing. Ziplining and going to la foruna waterfalls are a must.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nshafaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    386
    75
    25
    21
See reviews for
473
975
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Great Hotel...Spectacular views of Arenal Volcano. Front desk staff extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Hotel was not busy (maybe 1/3 occupied) because of slow season. Beautiful pool with natural spring waters of different temperatures (from cold to warm to hot). Great onsite bar (Lava Bar) to have a drink. Gorgeous and relaxing showers with 8 showerheads and rain shower. Very relaxing atmosphere. Great Massages.
Extremely close to the volcano. We had a rental car and it was about a 7-10 min drive to the park. Pay $10 and then 30 minute hike close to Volcano.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmarv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed in Royal Corin on the 12th through the 16th. The hotel itself was beautiful, extremely clean and well managed. The view of the volcano was exceptional. The resort style pool area with warm water was very relaxing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Made the first half of our trip very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troy6149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the second leg of our honeymoon. Fortunately we found a great deal online and were able to upgrade to one of their Master Suites for the duration of our stay.

As we first arrived at the hotel, we were greated with a cool wet towel and a cold fruity drink - a nice treat after our drive from the Jaco area. The staff was impeccable... we asked for suggestions on things to do, what to wear, what to bring, etc. and they were most helpful! Everyone including the front desk staff, bartenders, waiters, and the maintenance staff was very kind to us and went out of their way to cater to our needs.

We stayed at Royal Corin for three nights. Each evening when we entered the room we found a special dessert waiting for us, a complete surprise which we gladly welcomed. Room service was very fast and the food at the hotel was AMAZING. Their "comida typicia" for breakfast was very tasty and satisfying, and their breakfast buffet was even better. Their ceasar salad was absolutely incredible. We enjoyed every meal at Royal Corin.

The hot springs pools were something you cannot miss. With multiple pools and temperatures varying in each, there is something for everyone. The swim-up bar was one of our favorite hot spots. In addition, the Lotus Spa is fantastic. We received a couples massage and then soaked in the hot tubs. The staff made us feel very comfortable and at ease, and their services are reasonably priced.

Not only was the hotel its self very accomodating, but you can't beat the location. Set with an amazing view of the volcano, you are right where you want to be. It's honestly perfect. Most of the local tours will even come pick you up for free!

Thank you Royal Corin, for making our stay one we will always remember. We will be back! :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atterbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a wonderful honeymoon at the Hotel Royal Corin in April 2010. The Junior Suite was perfect for us (in-room jacuzzi, lots of space, fantastic volcano views, very clean), and we LOVED the Loto Spa which is down on the first floor. The staff were great and very accommodating (for example, I had made a reservation for a tour that I ended up not being able to go on, and they didn't charge me although I canceled at the last minute). We would come back to the room at night and find little treats, like a bottle of wine and dessert. The hotel was so great, we wish we had stayed longer! The breakfast that's included with reservations is not bad, either. Overall, we're pretty picky, but we really loved the Royal Corin.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was a beautiful hotel with the best staff. The amenities were wonderful - great hot pool and numerous hot spa type pools. Great sauna and just a lucious atmosphere.

There was not much of a crowd when we were there so there wasn't a lot of activity to keep the wait staff around, but they weren't hard to rustle up.

Don't just stay here for a stop-over. This hotel is worth being a few day destination while you do area activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Had an amazing stay here for 4 days. Our hotel room was amazing. It had a spectular view of the volcano where we saw it spew lava one night while sipping drinks on our patio. We had the most comfortable room with new amenities and tons of space. The breakfast that comes with the room is really good. We did alot of physical activities such as rappelling, hiking, white water rafting....So coming back to the hot springs pool was the perfect relaxation for sore muscles.

My only issue with the hotel was that we needed to take a taxi or rent a car to get to La Fortuna. But everything else was perfect!! Perfect place for our adventure but romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonaVSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing