We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Spectacular View of Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Spectacular View of Volcano”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We attended a wedding in Playa Grande, Costa Rica with friends, and then traveled to La Fortuna. The Hotel Corin was lovely. The rooms and grounds are beautiful. The spa on site was a dream. We participated in many exciting adventures with Desafio and it felt good to come back to such a beautiful hotel and surroundings. The spa was a relaxing alternative to our rugged adventures.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    439
    88
    26
    25
See reviews for
592
1,195
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Junior Suite. The service was excellent from the greeting and check-in to check-out. We dialed "0" no less than 10 times in our stay and was never disappointed. The spa was very good; and to our surprise, the food was outstanding! We particularly appreciated the range of food from $9 sandwiches to $25 entrees; no matter what we ordered (sandwiches, appetizers, or main courses) all were really superb. Other guests talked of the same experience. The view is fabulous even when it is cloudy and raining! We also tried whitewater rafting through the hotel tours (Wave adventures on the Balsa Class II-III) which proved to be outstanding.

Our only disappointments were these: i) Maintenance: our TV remote did not work well; the hot tub TV was out of order; and the sauna was not working the 3 days we were there (we heard a similar story from a guest at a comparable resort on things not working) ii) hot springs - there are better in the area (Tabaccon Springs), but nothing wrong with this one. iii) this is not related to the hotel , but know that you are extremely close to Arenal with a fabulous view - but chances of seeing it are < 10% (and indeed we did not in 3 days). I've been to this area 3 times, and have seen the volcano once.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTMpls_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We are a couple in our fifties who spent a week at the Royal Corin. While the location is convenient to town (for restaurants) & attractions, it is too close to the main road for sleeping with the window open. The road here is on a grade & the constant truck noise spoils the ambience. Also all rooms face the hotel pool/swim bar where musak plays till 10:00pm. Additionally the raucous Baldi Hot Springs is across the street and their loud music also plays till 10:00pm. Further, we had a suite on the end located closest to Baldi & discovered they keep their blazing parking lot lights on all night long - they shone directly into our room.

For the younger set into partying this place may be fine. For people seeking peace & quiet, I highly recommend places like Arenal Nayara & The Springs which we visited and found to be sublime.

Further, if you are staying more than 2 nights you will undoubtedly find the standard room confining. Book a JR. Suite which is way more spacious.

The breakfast here is very good.

We booked one attraction tour through the hotel. This was a night wildlife tour. We specifically asked at the desk where this tour went. We were told near the Arenal volcano park but when the tour guide showed up we were informed that it was going to Desai (opposite direction), where we had just been that morning. Question & check carefully - or better yet do the tours on your own if possible.

Finally, aside from the breakfast, the hotel food is deplorable. La Choza in town was the best restaurant we found for the money. Get the shrimp anything - they are a wow! But all the food was fresh & delicious & we had a full week to check out many of the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayfox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We loved this hotel and were surprised at how nice it was in La Fortuna. The staff could not have been nicer and even though we
were not able to see the volcano (in the clouds) we had a wonderful
time enjoying the area. Don't miss the La Fortuna waterfall and the hanging bridges walk. We went to three different areas and three
different hotels on this trip and the Royal Corin was definitely the best

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MplsTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We got our rooms at $100/night in this new gorgeous resort with hot and cold pools, swim up bar, stylish decor and good restaurant. A great value at this price. There is a full view of beautiful Arenal Volcano from every room.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

My wife and I have been traveling thru Costa Rica for the last 2 weeks. This is the best hotel we have been to. The customer service is outstanding. The staff went out of their way to help assist us in anyway possible. Whether for booking tours, or reservations at the next hotel. We drove down to the southern caribe side of Costa Rica after leaving Royal Corin, we stayed one night and returned to the oasis of Royal Corin (for another 3 days).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomonaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed in a Master Suite for 4 nights and had an awesome time. The whole place is extremely clean and beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to go above and beyond. I encourage everyone to check out Hotel Royal Corin. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ydkj247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing