We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in one of their master suites for about 4 nights and it was very nice and comfortable. HUGE room overlooking the pool and volcano. We went during rainy season (Aug 2014) for our honeymoon. We were fortunate enough to get a glimpse of the tip of the volcano from our room from time to time without any clouds covering it, which was a hit or miss during rainy season. Their pools are nice and relaxing but the complimentary breakfasts were average. We didn’t eat at their restaurant as we took the advice of previous reviewers and ate in town. I ordered a drink at the pool and we got double charged but we were refunded when we brought it up at check out. The drink was not even close to being strong enough, by the way.

I would have appreciated it if someone had asked us if we needed help with our luggage upon our arrival and when we checked out as there are only stairs going down, no ramp. Also, their wi-fi speed is not great at all but it worked for the average browsing. Overall, very nice hotel if you stay in one of their master suites.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Director de Recepción at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to share your experience during your visit to our hotel, we regret very much that some of our services were not of your total satisfaction, we will work to improve these points. We are pleased to know that your stay in general was pleasant and we hope you will visit us the next time you come to Costa Rica.

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    385
    75
    24
    21
See reviews for
466
965
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We just came back from Costa Rica (08/15/2014) and stayed at Royal Corin for 3 nights. We had a suite (absolutely loved it) and one additional standard room. The staff was very friendly and offered all the assistance we needed in booking a couple of excursions we wanted to go on (Rafting and Sky Trek/Sky Walk). The breakfast in the morning is quite decent. The pools outside are also very nice with 3-4 separate areas to sit at and have a couple of small waterfalls to enjoy the thermal water. They even got our laundry put in a dryer for free as we had to pack and had used the pools overnight.
The view of the volcano is pretty magnificent from the balcony. Although we went in their rainy season, we were lucky to escape without much rain throughout our 6 day stay ( 3 at Hacienda Pinilla on the Pacific coast).
The drive from Liberia to La Fortuna and from La Fortuna to San Jose is simply heavenly. Please plan on extra time to stop and absorb the beautiful scenery and take pictures.
Overall, very satisfied with the stay at Royal Corin.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the suite, you will not regret paying extra. They even have a Jacuzzi with its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maninder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from only 3 days but was very pleasant, hotel was amazing, staff very helpful, volcano and pool view were indescribable. A paradise in the middle of a paradise. Weather kinda sucked in August but try to do everything in the morning cause in the afternoon always rains, yet we still enjoyed the heck out of the zip lines and ATVs. Back to the hotel though highly recommended remember when u see a bad review about a good hotel there is probably over demanding guests behind it. Pool was heated perfectly, jazcuzzis and sauna next to pool,not to mentioned a mini bar in the middle of the pool. Price was right and felt welcome. I will def go back to costa rica and same hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at the Royal Corin for 3 nights. The suite is beautiful and the bathroom amazing! The hotel was very clean and generous with their towels. The hotel requires that a room key be inserted into a designated area to run the electricity in the room. We hade medication that required refrigeration. We called the front desk and told them our situation. They were accommodating and told us NOT to remove the key and that they would notify house keeping of our situation so as to make sure that the key was not removed. This took a huge burden off our shoulders as we were concerned about the medication. The medication needed to be transferred with frozen blue ice (which we brought), and again they assisted us in this. I can't say enough good things about the hotel! The heated pool was amazing! We saw the volcano for 15 minutes on the last day of our stay.. The weather was a challenge, but we went during the rainy season and knew what to expect. .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The rooms were nice, I had an excellent, and it was overall a very positive experience. We only stayed there for a couple days but we could have easily stayed longer if we had the time. A lot of things to do in the local town.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedtastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff upgraded us to excellent rooms, and we were on the all inclusive drink/meal plan. The drinks tasted great but were light on alcohol content. Surprised that the lunch menu was same as dinner.
Snacks at the pool swim up bar tasted great but took long time to get. We enjoyed having the hot tub jacuzzis in addition to the main pool, which provided a sense of having the place to ourselves.
Loved the stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth20131957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Corin for the first 3 days of our honeymoon and were blown away. From the free upgrade to the master suite, fresh juice on arrival, and luxurious restaurant and pools, we felt treated like royalty. Everything was clean, safe, and relaxing. Staff were super friendly and accommodating, no matter what the request. The view of the volcano is outstanding and drinking a huracán in the hot-springs fed pool was the epitome of luxury.

Breakfast was the best meal we had in Arenal. Perfect mix of Costa Rican típica and familiar favorites. And the FRUIT!

Don't forget to meet Valentina and Alfonso, the huge iguanas. The wonderful groundskeeper let us feed them lettuce!

The only downside was our beautiful room had a mildewy smell, but I think that's expected in the rainy season when nothing fully dries. Cleaning staff did a great job!

Bottom line: Expensive hotel but totally worth it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larkin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing