We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great experience; a hotel that exceeds its reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly great experience; a hotel that exceeds its reputation”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Corin last week and found the hotel and its staff friendly and attentative. The property is well maintained, the rooms look directly at the vulcano and the variety of hot spring-fed pools is exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moran923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    444
    88
    26
    25
See reviews for
603
1,203
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

(+)The amenities were great. The hotel was beautiful. The shower will the multiple shower heads was neat. The linens smelled great. Breakfast was delicious and free (-) The staff was less then friendly. We felt like we were bothering them, with the exception of the restaurant and spa staff. There was no warm welcome. The hot spring "spas" were less clean then other hotels with similar pools. The music in the restaurant was awful and was on a loop so we had to hear the same music for every meal. The bar/club on the top floor had a TV on and no music. The bartenders were all bored and on their phones. We ordered one meal from the bar - a pizza with homemade mozzarella cheese, basil and tomatoes. The cheese was yellow, there was no basil and it tasted frozen. When we asked where the basil was we were told it was in the sauce, they brought out basil with no apologies. I felt the expectation of a friendly and customer service environment does not come from management. Also, when the other hotels in the area were booked, this one had lots of vacancies. No wonder.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the center or over the lobby for a better view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kelly S

Really we are sorry that the perception of our services has been negative, it is always our goal to offer a quality service and we are surprised by the attitude you mention of our collaborators.
However we will take the necessary measures for this situation is not repeated and that our dear guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Royal Corin for 5 days. The location was amazing! The grounds were impeccably maintained and the pools were gorgeous. Our room had a stunning view of the grounds and Arenal Volcano. The room was clean, modern, and well sized. The bathroom had a really neat walk in shower with multiple nozzles (almost felt like a car wash for people!). Our bed was large, comfortable and the room temperature adjusted almost immediately when we bumped it up or down. We enjoyed the hot springs/pools daily as well as happy hour (6-8pm in the Lava Bar on the 5th floor every night). The staff was very friendly (except for a couple of bartenders who I'm sure had their reasons). The food at the hotel was very good as well. The only reason I give this hotel a 4 star instead of 5 however is because of the prices of food and drinks. $10 for a mixed drink with well liquor seems a bit pricey in my opinion, as does a cheeseburger for $17. To be fair, I think most hotels in the area were priced at this level, something I wish I had known when considering whether to book at an all inclusive and whether to get a rental car or not. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay. Also, one of the perks of it being a smaller boutique hotel was that we met wonderful people and had a great time socializing with them at the bar and the pool! While in La Fortuna, we did horseback riding with Alberto's Horses to the waterfall in La Fortuna, took the hanging bridges tour, hiked the trails around Arenal (paid the cab fare to ride up to Arenal- $15, and the the entrance fee of $10/person. You are given a map and the paths are well marked. We had a wonderful time and paid a substantial amount less than those that went on the guided tour that only went around part of the trail), and made a trip to Proyecto Asis, all activities I would recommend to anyone traveling to the La Fortuna area. We also had dinner at Benedictus Organics Steakhouse, it was amazing (I left a review on tripadvisor for them as well). Overall, we had a great time at the Royal Corin. If you're in La Fortuna and you choose to stay at the Hotel Royal Corin, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaAnn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon. This was part of a 5 week trip through Central America. The location is simply amazing, with views across to the Arenal Volcano.

We had a junior suite which I could only describe as abject luxury. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It was well over 6 feet wide, so was bigger than a Californian King. The room had an in-room Jacuzzi which was great.

The thermal pools were amazing, although it is very hot during the day so really only worth using late at night.

Breakfasts at the restaurant were great.

We had dinner which was excellent, steaks etc were cooked perfectly.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

If you are in the area for a while, I suggest renting a car, as taxis to and from the hotel are expensive and start to mount up when you go it more than a couple of times. There are some great sodas (local restaurants) in town if you want something more authentic and less catering to American package tourists.

The only negative about our room, (#401) was that the wifi didn't work, it simply did not extend that far, and we had to go outside on one of the balconies to get service. Not a major as we weren't there to use the internet, but likely annoying if you need connectivity.

The hotel is expensive by Costa Rican standards, but you would easily pay upwards of $400-500 USD a night for the same thing elsewhere.

If we ever make it back to Central America we would come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides (the Junior suites) may have poor wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that your visit was enjoyable and you enjoyed all the amenities of our hotel. In behalf of all the staff at Royal Corin look forward to visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days here in January. I have to say, this was my favorite place in Costa Rica.The hotel was lovely and staff was very friendly and helpful. Short drive to restaurants and main attractions. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolascoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Some things went missing from the safe. Error codes on the digital read out, we had to get maintenance to open the safe only to find out that the safe had been opened and some of our things were gone. Management was less than helpful, rude and insulting about the issue. Certainly consider your options carefully.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank nicholasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
In our hotel there is a series of protocols for the overall operation, including the procedure for responding to a request for the opening of a safety deposit box. A part of this procedure is that the personnel sent to open a safe for confusion, negligence or bad operation of the same one, must be sure whenever the person under the one who is registered the room should be there and should be present in the opening procedure, the personnel cannot enter to the room if this step does not materialize, and the second thing is that the authorization does not exist to the personnel to touch any of the belongings deposited in the safe.
We are sorry very much about this situation, but insinuate that a member of our personnel stole or removed your money, is a very serious accusation and it is even more to affirm that it is our way of carrying on business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE! YOU WILL REGRET IT.

This was one of my worst hotel experiences, ever. The main road/highway is about 50 feet away. All you can hear is traffic.

They don't have many chairs or tables around the pool so there is barely anywhere to sit. The place was packed, mostly with locals but several of them had infant children that were wearing diapers playing in the pools. I find it fairly disgusting that the hotel allows people to do this.

The drinks you're allowed to get under their "all inclusive" isn't even all inclusive. They have "select brands" of alcohol that they force you to drink, or you have to pay for it if you want something else.

The hotel looked like a disaster. Very run down and dirty. A little like something from a horror movie. The front desk staff was not friendly. Some guy without a name tag, and no uniform was the "door man". The breakfast was gross and they have very limited options for other meals.

Upon checking out, the front desk tried to charge us when leaving for "losing the room key" even though they never once mentioned during check-in that there is a charge for not keeping your key. After telling them they never mentioned that rule, they agreed not to charge us for the key.

We are not hard to please whatsoever. We were shocked at how badly rundown and how badly managed this hotel is. Don't waste your money or time staying here. You will regret it.,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank highper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,852 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing