We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed there for nine nights. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was great, they were very helpful in finding activities for me to do and giving directions to attractions in the area. The issue was the bartender at the pool bar was very slow and more interested in his phone. The location is very good, a lot of things to do nearby and the views of the volcano are second to none. The restaurant was very good and the free breakfast was also very nice. Overall a great hotel and I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Corin for 2 nights on our 7 night visit to Costa Rica.

The Good: the rooms are very nice, the usual amount of spaciousness, a very nice shower with 3 different settings (an overhead rain shower, a removable shower head and multi spray shower coming out of 6 small jets/sprays from the wall (a word of caution, our shower leeked a bit under the door). We were greeted with a very refreshing cocktail at check in. They have excellent free wifi. The heated by hot springs pools were very nice after a day of exploring. Every night a knock on the door around 5:30 would bring a pleasant small sweet delight. Not only was our room made everyday but they actually change the sheets every day! Complimentary bfast was good. Happy hour from 6-8, 2 for 1 drinks, any drinks you like. Dinner in the restaurant was good (I would say on par with dinner that we had at Don Rufinos). Amazing views of the Arenal Volcano. Extremely nice staff ( the grounds keeper who speaks zero English pointed out one of the many iguanas on the property "Evita". When Evita would not stop for pictures he went inside and came back with a banana to feed her so she would stay put for photos, very special).

Cons: our room was smelly. Very smelly. It could be because the air was turned off prior to our arrival due to low season but it stunk. We aired out the room and turned on the air but after 2 days it still slightly smells. I recommend bringing fabreeze or Lysol or a candle. It's really unfortunate that it was so smelly.

In our 2 days we journeyed to La Fortuna waterfall, did the sky trek zip line, ate at the hotel restaurant, ate at Don Rufino (we tried to have dinner at Benedictus because of the great reviews but they're closed until November 1st, boo.

I will write a review of Don Rufino separately but in a nutshell it was good, not great, also not too too pricey.

Also the zip line was awesome! We also signed up for the sky walk but we cancelled due to extremely heavy rain.

The fortuna waterfall is amazing! A rough walk down about 1/3 of a mile worth of steps leads to a gorgeous waterfall and a nice cool pool for swimming ( not directly under the falls it's actually very dangerous). The walk up is a doozy too. $10 for entry to the falls, a must see if your legs can make the trek.

We loved la fortuna, it was an amazing part of our vacation. We also spent time in Playa Hermosa and Manuel Antonio National Park, I'll review these places separately.

A fantastic vacation


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks for your comment, we are pleased to know that your stay was generally pleasant. Usually at this time of the year for being rainy season humidity increases and is a bit difficult to control it. We will try to improve this aspect for future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel and view are lovely- pools lovely although some pool areas are in disrepair. Staff very friendly except at pool side bar compared to remaining staff. Rooms great clean!- small issues with maintenance for lighting in shower stall and bathroom. Overall wonderful

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nursealert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean, well appointed Luxury Hotel. Amenities, particularly the hot-springs, services and personnel were very good and responsive. Rooms are very good and clean. Security and restaurant food was good and service was very good. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was very good, connectivity was very good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great stay - hotel is beautiful and the view is unbelievable! There was great access to all kinds of tours and adventures for exploring - hotel would set it up so everything was easy. Spa was spectacular so I went a couple of times. :-) Going into town is a quick trip if you want to do some souvenir shopping or get a bite to eat. Don Ruffino's was AMAZING for dinner - highly recommend it!!! Overall a fantastic place to stay and I would recommend it to all my friends.. Only disappointment was the food. It was quite expensive considering that it was fairly average quality and the dishes weren't that exciting. Maybe because we were there off-season? Nonetheless, still a great place to go!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great because they all face the volcano!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were greeted with yummy drinks, pastries and warm smiles. The staff were a great help and answered any questions we had as well as organized some 3rd party excursions/activities we were interested in. Rooms were very well kept and of great quality furniture. The hot spring pools were cleaned and emptied every night and were lovely. Location is right next to the Arenal volcano and a great place to stay if you are willing to engage in the many adventures offered in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceOfYourHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Royal Corin is a beautiful hotel with very well-maintained rooms and facilities. The hot water spring runs through the grounds of the hotel so you can relax in the very well-designed pools with different water temperatures which are marked. You get a nice view of the volcano from the beautiful grounds of the hotel. The staff is very profeesional, helpful and try their best to please all the customers. Location is very convenient to take tours to the Arenal Volcano, boat rides on Lake Arenal, the Hanging Bridges, the waterfall, zip line rides, etc. It's a very short ride to the town of Fortuna with its many restaurants. For those of you who travel with only carry-ons, there is a very nice super market on the way to Fortuna, should you need to buy things you cannot put in carry-ons. Hotel great for honeymooners as well as families.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a volcano view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrimnoprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $189 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing