We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing hotel with hot springs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel with hot springs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Our room had a view of the volcano and the pool area. It was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was really good. The hotel is about 10 min away from the Fortuna by car.I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt. Compared to other hotels, you spend more money but totally worth it. Stay here and enjoy the hot springs!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with a view of the volcano and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBgirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    404
    80
    25
    24
See reviews for
503
1,031
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My Fiance and I went to the Hotel Royal Corin for 3 nights in late July and we were both extremely satisfied with our stay. The hotel and grounds were very clean and very pretty, with the gardens and Arenal Volcano in the backdrop. My Fiance and I didn't realize that July was a rainy season, so we didn't see a whole lot of the Volcano. We actually only saw it once over the three days we were there, but there are plenty of excursions to do near by to amuse anyone. The hotel staff were very helpful in advising us on the best and most popular excursions to take. We booked all of our excursions the day before we planned to do them and no problems with excursions being booked. We rented a car and drove from the San Jose airport to La Fortuna. The drive was about 2 1/2 hours and a GPS is definitely needed. The roads can be confusing and there are no highways up to La Fortuna from San Jose, so expect a long drive if you get stuck behind a truck on a windy road. Overall the rental car was a nice way to see the country of Costa Rica.

The excursions we did were all great fun, and we took a more relaxed approach and did one per day. It is definitely possible to do two per day though. The first day we did the canyoning tour which was great fun. Like i said it was the rainy season, so it pretty much rained all day, but repelling down waterfalls get you wet anyway. You repel down about 6 waterfalls and the guides do a good job of splitting the group up so you aren't spending along time waiting for the rest of the group. The second day we did the ecoglide zip-lining tour, which was also a great time. Thankfully the weather was pretty nice during our whole excursion which made for some amazing pictures.

The hotel food was really good. The pool bar served food all day and the restaurant was good also. The food at the restaurant was a little pricey but worth it. We drove into town for dinner one night and had a great authentic costa rican meal that was very reasonably priced. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The pool bartender could have been a little happier but the night guy made up for it. The hotel spa couples massage is amazing and absolutely worth getting. The hotel pools and hot tubs are a constant 85 degrees and cleaned every night.

We got engaged our first night at the Hotel Royal Corin hotel and this hotel was definitely the best place we could have hoped to spend the first days of our vacation and engagement.

Room Tip: The higher floors of the hotel probably have a better view, but all the rooms look out over the volc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewillson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel as I write this review. This hotel is just SO amazing I could not wait to write a review at home! The views from both sides of this hotel are breathtaking. Our room is clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are well trained and cater to your every need. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Don't go anywhere else!! They even helped us save money on tours! Definitely planning to come back here, this hotel is everything we hoped for and more. :) 5 star rating all the way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We checked in with a party of 9 and were greeted with refreshing drinks, were given a brief tour and then our dinner reservations secured. Promptly went to the pool area and enjoyed all the pools (cold and hot) and saunas. The swim up bar very handy, yet it was the amazing view of the Arenal volcano from the pool that was breath taking!! The wait staff was TOP notch! We were pampered and truly amazed with the friendly nature of everyone that worked at the hotel. Had the good fortune of meeting the owner and enjoyed a nice night chatting with him by the pool. He has a vision for his hotel and it is clear that he works very hard so that this vision is implemented in every sense. The food was great and the liquor was top shelf. We chose the all inclusive package and it was well worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atldobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

It is really worth spending a little more and staying here. The suite we stayed was very large, modern, and clean. All rooms have balconies with views of the pools and the Arenal Volcano.

The breakfast is also very good and was included in our rate - really recommended if you do not want to drive to town just to get breakfast.

The location is a little far from the town, but with easy access and fantastic views of the volcano. I would recommend having a car.

Have in mind that the price of a daily pass for some of the hot springs nearby for a family of 3 or 4 would pay for most of the hotel rate, so it turns out cheaper than anticipated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We choose this hotel as they are having a low promotion. I think at this price, it is very good value for what we get. The hot spring pool is fabulous especially after a long day of exercise. Room is clean and nice though the buffet breakfast is a bit disappointed. But having said that, I shouldn't compare it with those offered by resorts in Asia of the same grade.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermainator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are a smoker don't worry. You can always smoke in the privacy of your balcony. The hotel is beautiful and the food is absolutely amazing. Bear in mind there is no gift shop for toiletries you may have forgotten but it is only an 8 dollar taxi ride into the city where you can find all you need at the supermarket or pharmacy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner junior suite and it was worth every penny. The pool is very hot from the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acacia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 66 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing