We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You won't regret it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were extremely happy with our choice to stay at Royal Corin. We had four stops in Costa Rica and this turned out to be the highlight. The view from the room was incredible (all of the rooms have views of the hot springs and Arenal). Everyone at the hotel was very helpful. We both got messages at the spa and we very pleased with them. There's a long list of specialty drinks at the swim up bar and they were all good to outstanding. We planned to go into town for a lot of our meals but we were pleasantly surprised by the food and reasonable prices at the hotel so we ended up having most of our meals there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable facilities as well as service and constant concern of our staff for your confort. Especially, thank you for having chosen our hotel as a travel destination and we hope that on your next visit to the area, have your visit again to offer you our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    387
    76
    25
    21
See reviews for
474
979
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were greeted with a tropical cocktail upon arrival. Check in was a breeze. The hotel was immaculate and our room was amazing! We had a view of the volcano if we were sitting in the tub and if we went on the balcony we had a view of the pool and bar( room 419) . Our breakfast was included with our package. It was excellent, fresh fruit, rice and beans, some type of meat either sausage or ham, pancakes, eggs( usually prepared over- medium or scrambled) and plenty of sweets. We booked 2 tours from the hotel, horseback riding to the volcano and Atv 's. we were always picked up on time, transportation was excellent. Both tours were a blast! Alfonso was our guide with the Atv and he was great! We also went white water rafting which was great too. Our guide was Diego. We loved him, he made it an extra fun adventure.
Any time we needed a taxi, usually we got Marcus, it was readily available. La Fortuna is kind of a sleepy town, some shopping, some restaurants. Nonight life. But we were exhausted from our day time trips. The staff, service , food and accommodations at the Royal Corin were 5 star. We are at the 4 seasons now for the second half of our vacation and we thought Royal Corin was better in everything !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!( the only thing that I felt was missing was a regular pool. The hot spring are amazing and I loved it. But it was very hot outside and very humid and to cool off we would go back to room in the amazing air conditioning or cool shower. Also, Edwin the bartender could have been more friendly )

Room Tip: We loved our room , 419. It had a great view of the volcano and the pool area. It was also very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labuenavida777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Could not be happier with a place around the volcano. I spent a lot of time trying to decide where to stay around the Arenal Volcano. There are so many choices from the low end hostels up to the super luxurious hot springs. We found this place to have everything we needed for a medium level price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had questions about every trip we took and they were glad to call the adventure companies and offer their own opinions. The breakfast was outstanding and included. The other meals were very nice but a little on the expensive side. That was fine as we ventured out of the hotel for lunch and dinner most of the time. Their warmed pools were a great way to relax after a day of hiking. If you want to still experience the local tourist hot springs, you can always buy a day pass. The view was amazing... when the clouds cleared. We didn't have any issue with road noise, the wildlife will wake you up before the vehicle do.

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony view of the volcano, can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I drove up from Alajuela taking about three hours to get to the hotel. It is was easy to find just a few miles past the main drag in La Fortuna. The security guard for the parking lot had our names on a list and let us through immediately.

Once we parked our car, we were met by the bell man happy to take our luggage for us. Then, inside the reception area, it was a welcome drink of tropical fruit brought to us right away to help shake off the drive and to begin the process of rejuvenation.

We were eager to try out the hot springs pools so despite the rain we went for a plunge. The pool area is very well kept with a great view of Arenal. We were slightly disappointed though that the power was not working to run the jacuzzi areas of the hot springs. Also, the water did not seem to be as hot as the signs indicated. Perhaps it was the rain that lowered the temperatures.

My wife took advantage of the 20% discount for a massage, $60 instead of $75 for 50 minutes. She said it was the best massage that she had ever had. The masseuse really knew what she was doing and hit all of the right pressure points.

After the massage, we tried out the bar on the fifth floor for the 2x1 happy hour special. The pina coladas we had and the fish tapas were quite good but hardly a deal at $18 even with the happy hour pricing. The good thing is that the tips are included so don't make the mistake of tipping twice unless you intend to do so.

Our room on the fourth floor was very nice, especially the shower that was big enough for two and offers three different water sprays. The bath products and towels were all top notch too.

Breakfast was outstanding and included in the room price. There was a wide selection of tropical fruits, some meats, eggs, cheeses, several breads, coffee, tea, juices and other selections. The patio garden seating was nice too.

Overall, we paid $175 for the room based on a low-season 50% off price booked directly on the hotel web site. For the price, it was a nice experience but at the normal rack rate, for value conscious travelers like us, we probably would go somewhere else.

Room Tip: For better views of Arenal, get a room on the La Fortuna side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at the Royal Corin. Everything was very nice and clean and relaxing. The hotel looks and feels exactly like it is presented online. The staff was OUTSTANDING. They provided all the information we needed for travelling, visiting town, and the excursions, and they were always friendly.

The breakfast buffet was very good and had a wide variety of foods each day. The restaurant was a little less than desirable for the other meals, but there were plenty of great inexpensive restaurants in town.

This was our first international trip, and it went very smoothly, thanks to all the help at the Hotel Royal Corin. We would highly recommend visiting. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and could not have been happier. The room was very spacious. The views of the area and especially the volcano were amazing. The place was beautiful. The staff, was very attentive and very friendly. The buffet breakfast had a little of everything, and when the eggs on the buffet where not how I prefer them, I was able to get scrambled eggs from the kitchen. We wanted to try local cuisine for dinner and the hotel provided us with a free round trip ride to town. The hot spring pool was incredible. Next time we come to Costa Rica we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drmil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We couldn't have been more thrilled with this hotel.
I booked it while in Costa Rica knowing only what I had read about it on TripAdvisor and their website (which just gives the basics.)
They offered a 50% rate which we thought was very reasonable and it included a daily buffet breakfast.
The hotel seems rather new and had a boutique feel to it. We were welcomed with a cocktail of sorts which was very refreshing.
The staff was very friendly.

Our room was was quite spacious (standard w/king bed) and a wonderful view of Arenal Volcano and the pools. The room was very clean.

We had dinner there the first night and it was good and affordably priced.

The main hotspring fed pool is HOT be warned! And this is the pool w/the swim-up bar. Personally too hot for me! The pool to the left is cooler (80) but refreshing.
The drinks at the bar were delicously refreshing! I had the Beso Facil...definitely give it a try!

The lobby bar offers a happy hour from 6-8p I believe.

The buffet breakfast is good with lots to eat. Unforunately most of the choices were carbs. The fruits were very fresh and again I have to comment on the pineapple marmalade...yummy!

There are tons of iguanas on the grounds by the pools and waterfalls. My son loved them!

The service at this hotel is great. Everyone was very friendly, attentive and accommodating.
Checkout is 12p but they allowed me to stay in our room a little longer. We then stayed at the pool and had lunch while they stored my luggage. We used the spa's shower before we left, paid our bill retrieved our luggage and away we went.

I'm pretty particular about my hotels and this was definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have a view of the volcano and pools. We were on the third floor between t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing