We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is wonderful hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to stay at again. All rooms have a balcony that looks out upon the beautifully maintained private hot springs pool and the Arenal Volcano. The hot springs pool has a very upscale, spa like feel to it and was never very busy. In addition there are few hot tubs set apart from the pool for extra privacy. The staff was very friendly and helpful in scheduling excursions during our stay. The on site restaurant was a surprise as well. The dinner menu contains exceptionally prepared dishes with a Mediterranean influence. Being somewhat of a foodie I was actually surprised at the quality of the food; it wasn't something I expected to find in Costa Rica. The hotel room itself is well appointed and very clean. Overall the hotel has a very serene quality about it which is perfect for a couples getaway. If your looking for a hotel with more of a rustic, lodge like feel to it, the Royal Corin is definitely not that hotel. On the other hand if you seek a peaceful upscale retreat then look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    397
    77
    25
    22
See reviews for
488
1,001
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Good:

First of all, the location is great, right in front of the volcano and just outside the small town of La Fortuna. The grounds and pools are lovely. My family and I also used the spa, and that was also top notch. Carolina, in particular, was a great massage therapist.

The Bad:

I had made a reservation for our March stay back in October. When I called a month ahead of our stay (in February), I was told thet never received it. They do their confirmations via fax and I confirmed its receipt at the time, but nonethless...So when I called to confirm we were not honored with the suite I has booked, but rather a room with a king, and a rollaway. There was also a package which included all meals, spa treatments and one excursion. I was told this package was totally SOLD OUT, even though it remained on their website. Instead, I was offered an abbreviated package in a SMALLER ROOM for MORE MONEY! Since their were no other options available in the area I went with it. I made absolute sure that the confirmed my reservation. Carolina, the (desk attendant. not massage therapist) handled all of this quite poorly and I demanded contact with a supervisor. Neither apologized for losing my reservation or for an y hardship.

The food at this hotel is TERRIBLE, they try to dress things up, but you can't create a silk purse from a sow's ear, plain and simple.

The bartenders at the pool bar were very slow and busy socializing with their friends.

There were never enough towels at the pool, and in fact we waited ONE HOUR for them one night. When I inquired as to where they were the attendant told me I shouls have used my robe from my room? Excuse me? I don't want to try myself off with the robe I used after I shower thank you. He just shrugged.

Lastly, the water from the pools gave both my boys severe ear infections. God knows what was growing in there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newwavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

this place is just beautiful, nice rooms with big balcony, excellent view of arenal volcano, huge hot spring water private pools and jacuzies, and the restaurant has nice breakfast and meals, surprisingly with a separate vegetarian menu!! staff is very curtsious and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajajanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had a good time during your visit to Royal Corin, we look forward to have your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is an absolute delight. It is stylish and comfortable. The view of the volcano is stunning, the pools relaxing, the staff friendly and helpful. I was so excited to see just how gorgeous and luxurious the room was. If you have to spend some time inside while you are in Costa Rica - this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved the stay! The hotel is located about 2 1/2 hrs from San Jose airport, but the drive is very scenic. Call or email the hotel before hand to arrange for transportation. The staff was very accomodating and even helped me with my Spanish. The room was pleasant but the bed was the absolute best! Very plush. The bathroom shower was also a nice touch: they have a radio embedded in the shower head! Your hotel reservation comes with daily breakfast. We loved eating on the patio and the Costa Rican cuisine for breakfast kept us full until dinner time. The prices for lunch and dinner were a bit high, so my husband and I would opt for travelling to town every night. The hot springs are hot and can be a bit too much when the sun is shining. But, on a rainy or cloudy day, they were a welcome. Considering the hot springs are an attratraction, this hotel can be a tourist sight throughout the day, meaning it can become crowded. But, my husband and I did an excursion almost every day and we barely noticed. These day trips can be planned through the hotel with pick up and drop off. We recommend the safari ride, the Ecoglide zipline, and white water rafting. Do not pay to go to the park. The cost to enter is $7 and you can walk around and view all day for yourself without the time contraints of a tour. We will be returning to this hotel because it was a the best for our money. Downtown restaurants that are a must: Nene's, Don Rufino and Lava Lounge.

Room Tip: Our room was 411 and had the best view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hot springs are really the star of this hotel, with a large main pool at "bath tub temperature" with a swim up bar, cold plunge pools, and jacuzzis scattered around it. We also visited the Tabacon hot springs while we were in the area (it was included in a hike package along with a buffet dinner) and while it was fun and the food was surprisingly good, it was also very crowded and seems like an unnecessary expense if you're staying at the Royal Corin and enjoying its far less crowded hot springs already. Our room overlooked the pool and the Arenal volcano, and had a serene feel to it with marble floors and dark wood accents. The shower was very high tech, though I didn't make any attempts to try its various jets and other functions. The hotel restaurant was fine, though apart from the included breakfasts, we only dined there one night. The hotel spa uses good products (Pevonia) and offers a wide variety of services. I had a deep tissue massage and my therapist was well trained and gave me some significant back pain relief, though be warned that good deep tissue massages are not a relaxing experience! The front desk staff was helpful with scheduling and rescheduling activities due to bad weather, and because we had the option of the spa activities and hot springs right there, we didn't feel like we had lost/wasted time. La Fortuna de San Carlos is not a big town and the main activities in the area are hiking, wildlife activities, zip line tours, etc. so if you want something a little nicer and less touristy for your downtime, this is a good place to stay.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stunning! Excellent service, English or Spanish. Volcano in your view everywhere you look. Hot springs, rejuvenating. Don't miss it if you are close. Oh, food is excellent and exotic if you like. La Fortuna is a comfy place. I felt safer there than my home town. Taxi service is friendly and FAST.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing