We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel! Food needs improvement!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
West Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel! Food needs improvement!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location = Amazing
Quality of Room = Beyond Amazing
Quality of Service = Beyond Amazing
Quality of amenities = Beyond Amazing
View = Amazing

Food, Food Service, and selection = Eh. For a 5 star hotel it had 2-3 star selection at 5-6 star prices.

Room Tip: breakfast is slim. mostly pastries and buffet limited food. beyond that AMAZZZZZZZZZZZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    397
    77
    25
    22
See reviews for
488
1,001
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent the final 3 nights of our two week trip to Costa Rica at the Hotel Royal Corin. We stayed in one of six Master Suites. The suites are amazing and definitely worth the extra money. After we checked in, the staff brought us a cheese tray and a bottle of wine (not sure if it was because we had a suite or because it was our Honeymoon, but either way it was a nice gesture). The room was huge and is exactly as it appears on the website. The embedded Jacuzzi, the huge balcony, the view, the walk-in shower, and the bed were all fantastic and well worth the price. It rained off and on and was cloudy most of the time, but you’re in the Costa Rican rain forest so what can you do? We did get to see the Volcano (which is about 300 or so meters away) when the clouds cleared just in time on the morning that we left town.

The food is decent and breakfast is included. Breakfast is buffet style and includes lots of fresh fruit and typical Costa Rican food like Gallo Pinto. Since we had been traveling the country, we had our own car so we only ate at the resort a couple of times. We had a couple of really good meals in La Fortuna; Kappa Sushi and Don Rufinos were our favorites.

The pools are hot spring fed and a really unique experience. There are a few hotels that charge people to come in and use their natural springs (Tabacon & Baldi) but they get way too crowded. The Royal Corin’s pools are really nice and the tile work is really well done. The hot pools are ideal for the cloudy rainy days that we spent at Arenal.

There are plenty of adventurous things to do in the Arenal area. We did the Sky Trek/Tram/Walk deal near the national park. The Tram is a 10 minute ride up a mountain in a ski lift. There are great views of the jungle canopy and Lake Arenal. Sky Trek is a series of 8 Zip Lines. I had never been zip lining before, but I would be willing to be that this one is tough to beat. After a couple of short zip lines, you head right for the highest one which hangs 650 feet above a ravine. You travel at 45 mph for 1500 feet and the views are amazing (if you’re willing to look down that is). We had a blast and opted to do the Sky Walk as well. It’s about a 2.5 mile hike through the rain forest with a decent amount of climbing, a couple of nice waterfalls, and several hanging bridges. It can be a little treacherous if it’s raining, so I’m not sure I’d bring small children.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and book a master suite - it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ae_110312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a nice property with a great view of the volcano (unless the clouds are blocking it). The pools/springs are enjoyable and the pool bar was great. Staff were mostly very friendly, in particular Herman at the front desk, and the bartenders (can't remember their names). We had a suite for 4 people which was more spacious than I expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethk40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a beautiful design, with every room facing the pools, the room is "magazine beautiful", very comfortable and clean. Great service, from the greeting cocktail, to the way they handle the smallest detail. The food and drinks at the restaurant were delicious. The pool system is amazing with hot springs everywhere, jacuzzis, sauna, 3 different pools, very relaxing. Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madecenteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although it rained nearly every day of our stay in Arenal, I really enjoyed the Royal Corin hotel.

Our room was beautiful and huge. It had a 2-seater jacuzzi in the living room space in addition to a beautifully redone and modern bath.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent as well as was the service. There was a large selection and variety of foods.

There are several large pools including a swim up bar to keep you entertained after a day of hiking. And although the area does not provide much in terms of nightlife the hotel does have a bar on the upper floors.

I would suggest booking your tours and plans before arriving. Everything is quite spread apart in Arenal and you could end up spending a lot on taxis without prior commitments.

Room Tip: Get the suite with the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank png888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the property a few months ago and overall it was a positive experience. The rooms and property are large, very modern and spotless all with amazing views of the volcano. The only downside was the service, not that it was poor just everyone seemed pretty unwelcoming...far different that any other resort/hotel we've stayed at in Costa Rica. To be fair we did not experience the spa which looked very nice.

PROS:
- large, comfortable rooms with great views of volcanos (all rooms have great view)
- rooms were spotless and very well maintained
- very large bathrooms with large very modern showers
- beautiful pool-deck with three hot spring pools and great view of volcano (see picture)
- guests are provided some type of fruit cocktail at check-in

CONS:
- servie was lacking, especially for a resort of this quality
- pricey for what you get
- limited food menu, average quality
- overall staff was just not as welcoming and warm as other resorts/locations in CR

If you're looking for a beautiful, well-maintained 5-star property like you can get in the states then you'll be very pleased here. If you're looking for a true Costa Rican getaway and want to experience the warm hospitality of the great CR culture you may look elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetAway2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The hot springs on site are very convenient, well maintained and really relaxing. The spa, restaurant and other facilities are great. I found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful and warm. Highly highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6666s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing