We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent hotel and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

excellent hotel and staff! location is magnificent, highly recommend! plenty of outdoor activities for the nature lovers out there in the arenal volcano region, sports like kayaking, canyoning, river rafting, zip lining , etc., are plentiful here, we were pleasantly surprised with the natural beauty,also the locals are very hospitable and pleasant, we felt safe the whole time we were in the country, not always the case as i have been to several other less developed nations, the only con's i would say is be prepared to drive on tiny winding roads if you are driving, and choose the season well, as we experienced non-stop drizzle, rain and cloudiness on our 4 day trip to this beautiful country, the do accept dollars as well and payment with credit/debit cards are widely accepted in most locations :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulfortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    393
    76
    25
    22
See reviews for
482
997
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After staying in Montezuma for 8 nights of wonder and awe, my husband decided to leave our vacation home a day early to go hike the Arenal Volcano and we stayed at this wonderful hotel. We have no complaints at all. Service was exceptional as soon as we parked. The staff helped with our luggage in the parking lot and then proceeded to give us a warm towlet to wipe our hands with and a complimentary fruit drink served in a champagne glass. The hot pools fueled by the volcano were wonderful as also was the complimentary breakfast the next morning that was made for a king. Room was totally modern including how to use the shower, lights and toilet. We also ordered an appetizer from room service and it was extremely quick and delicious. Thanks, Jen

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room available which happened to be on the 3rd. floor looking directly out at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel royal Corin-excellent service, great happy hour 6-9pm everyday. Sweet treat in room every evening. Every room with a magnificent view of the Arenal Volcano. Staff very attentive with helping us book excursions. Food was delicious in the hotel. Recommend booking the atv tour with Augustine. All excursions were booked through the hotel. Very professional, punctual, and let me not leave out friendly. The swim up bar is beautiful. This hotel gets 5 stars!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. We stayed for two nights. Room had amazing views. The restaurant had great food. The spa was wonderful and affordable. I had a body wrap and a massage, and afterwards was given strawberries and chocolate with champagne! The only reason I didn't give full 5 stars was the service was slow. At times the people at the front and in the restaurant were more interested in speaking to each other than helping you. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, but not 5 star standards. The rooms have wonderful views, but the lighting, especially in the bathrooms is inadequate. The food is good, but a desert which is delivered to the room nightly was not covered and was overrun with small ants when we got back to the room. No one was overly concerned when we called to tell them and we had to walk the plate down to the kitchen. We were overcharged and had we not carefully gone over the bill would have missed the fact that the fourth night, which was suppossed to be complimentary, was charged to the bill. One day the room was not cleaned and the shampoo and conditioner which is located in bottles attatched to the shower wall were not filled. We were never told that the pools were being repaired and only one was available, and when I was cut by loose tiles and was bleeding they handed me band aids and acted very indifferently. They did not apologize or offer any token compensation, (like a complimentary drink). Considering there were 10 people at the hotel when we checked in it would have been a nice gesture to do something.

Room Tip: They all face the volcano. Ask for feather pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went during rainy season during the week. The hotel was pretty empty due to the timing but I know they were sold out over the weekend. We got the royal treatment at all times. We even got a free upgrade since it was our 1 yr anniversary and the hotel was half full. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made all our adventures and transportation arrangement for us. Julio who works the front desk was extremely helpful when my husband had a lot of question about the different adventures. The food at the restaurant was a little pricey but was excellent. We loved happy hour from 6-8 at the bar. I would high recommend this place. Especially during the low season or at least during the week because then you have the pool all to yourself. Even if you go during the busy season the hotel has a nice small intimate feel to it. The location isn't close to much so be prepared to take taxi's into town or eating at the restaurant. Which was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid street side if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tecah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is a jewel! From the views of the volcano to the three hot spirngs pools to the beautiful flora on the grounds you cannot go wrong choosing Royal Corin! We had fabulous food, drinks, spa tratments, lazy days by the pools at the hotel and then exciting days ziplining, climbing down to the waterfall, canyoneering and site seeing and what a treat to come back to such a clean, courteous and relaxing "home" as is the Royal Corin. Top off the day by lounging in the hot springs pool and walk in the water to the bar for a nice before dinner drink. The rooms have all the up to date features such as Flat screen TVs, rainshower/jet showers and granite and marble baths. We were there during the off season and it actually felt like we were kings and queens with the a huge staff to wait on us. The location is great for whatever you plan to do in the La Fortuna area.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room location in this hotel as there are two elevators and all room overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing