We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel with Hot Springs on Site!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Hotel with Hot Springs on Site!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel was very elegant and made you feel like a million bucks, we really enjoyed the hot springs with varying temperature pools onsite-no need to pay extra or travel off site to enjoy these local wonders (there is a very large cat-sized iguana living in a rock next to pool 3/4)! The breakfast was plentaful and offered many local fruits and breakfast items. Great drinks at the lava bar-don't miss happy hour specials 2 for 1 drinks nightly, but don't come hungry not too much food offered at bar. Also,we did not eat lunch/dinner onsite we traveled down to the town-great food at all different prices points.

Room Tip: can't go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    446
    89
    26
    25
See reviews for
622
1,215
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel had one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in... Junior suite had a great jacuzzi complete with a tv inside it, shower with side jets, radio, and colored lights, oversized king bed. The view of the volcano was magnificent. The location was central to all activities in Arenal. The springs at the pool were nice although the swim up bar was a bit too warm for my liking 104F is a little warm when you are trying to eat and drink. The staff was very courteous. I would give this hotel five stars except for the food. The dinner we had was terrible. We sent back the tuna tartar and struggled to eat the steak and duck. The ceviche wasn't much better. Another guest told us his hamburger was inedible. Apparently this hotel is known for subpar food, because a local we met said " Hotel Royal Corin beautiful but la comida no es bueno." So I recommend staying here but eating elsewhere in la Fortuna where the food is great!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

What a great hotel! My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Royal Corin for three wonderful days in Arenal. We were blessed with clear weather and got to see the volcano every day -- I'm told that doesn't always happen. There is often too much cloud cover to see the volcano in full. It was an amazing experience to be in the shadow of the volcano while swimming in hot spring pools surrounded by tropical gardens. And, of course, there's the swim-up bar! What more could you want? The rooms were excellent - quiet and comfortable with a great shower (jets everywhere) and every room has a view of the beautiful grounds with the volcano as a backdrop. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities all top notch. There was a good selection at breakfast, although I'd bypass the fried eggs. The fruits and fruit juices in Costa Rica are to die for, so be sure and try them all. We ate from the bar menu one night, which was fine, but didn't try the main restaurant because there were a lot of options in town and we wanted to try a more authentic place. We ended up at a restaurant right across from the park in town that's under a big domed tee-pee sort of roof (can't remember the name). It was recommended to us by one of the tour guides and was very good - especially the seafood. Even though the area is a popular destination for tourists, it didn't feel very "touristy" the way Manuel Antonio did. There weren't people hassling you to take tours or buy souvenirs - it was more laid back. We had a car and went directly to the attractions rather than signing up for tours at the hotel -- it saved a bit of money that way. The nearby waterfall is a great little hike with a beautiful setting for swimming. Definitely do zip-lining at the Sky Tram and Trek place. You go up the mountain via a tram and come down on 8 different zip lines with views of Lake Arenal. What an adrenaline rush!! I'm no spring chicken (but in pretty good shape) and did this activity with no problem. You just hold on and scream! After seeing the sights in the area, we'd come back to Royal Corin for a dip in the pool and a cocktail or two -- a very relaxing way to end the day. The fifth floor bar has a very sleek design and more great views. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IggyandTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Royal Corin. For the first portion of the trip, we stayed at more "authentic" Costa Rican hotels. Staying at this property was sort of our finish-with-a-bang hotel. The property is so beautiful. The pools and hot springs are amazing. The view is spectacular of the volcano. We would just sit on our balcony and stare at how gorgeous. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets were so soft. There was central A/C. And the most fabulous part was the shower. It was a multi-head, rain down from the ceiling, changing lights kind of shower. So great!

The free breakfast was wonderful. Eggs, bacon, cereals, breads, fruits... you name it.

I would definitely recommend staying here. As I said, this was our end of the trip place as it was more expensive than the other places we stayed in Costa Rica but I wish we would have paid the money to stay in nicer places the whole time. The difference between a $150 room and a $300 room is a HUGE. And if you are the kind of traveller that needs creature comforts (nice bed, nice shower, etc) you should make the price jump.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is about a 3 hour ride from the San Jose airport. It is very close to the Arenal Volcano and many other tourist stops. The lobby is beautiful. There are many different hot tubs (without jets) and pools varying in temperature from 104-85 degrees. We didn't figure out that there was a cool temperature pool until departing. It is on the far left side. Outside there is a large sauna and showers available. There is a swim up bar in the pool with drinks costing about $9.00 a piece.The rooms are very large. The shower is amazing! Our room did not have a bath tub. The air conditioning stayed at 24 degrees no matter how many times we dropped it to 15 degrees celcius so that was not so stellar. The beds were really comfortable.

The restaurant was a bit pricy and the food was average at best. I would not recommend eating dinner here. The breakfast was ok nothing to really brag about.

There is no fitness center or anywhere to work out.

The small town is about a 10 minute ride from the hotel and there are many more options for restaurants and bars there. We found there to be no nightlife at all and really nothing to do after dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Royal Corin a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed our time there. We recieved a warm welcome and the staff were very good. We had a standard room that was lovely with great views as of course have all the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the showers are very nice indeed.

As well as a welcome drink at reception the hotel delivered a bottle of red wine and a selection of cheese and salad on the house when we arrived fairly late our first night. Whether this is standard practice or they knew it was our honeymoon I'm unsure. Every day they also left a little sweat in the room too. There was a beaufitful towel decoration on our bed when we got to our room too.

Our only criticism is each day they left cream for the coffee but it always seemed to be off - it was supposed to be powder form but I think it must have got wet as it always seemed to come out as a rubbery solid piece that you didn't really want to put in your coffee!

The hot pools are lovely but the jacuzzis a little disappointing...could be more bubbly! Good range of options at breakfast. We didn't eat at the restaraunt preferring to venture into town but we did have some room service one lunchtime and the food then was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Royal Corin. Not only was the view stunning, the rooms were fantastic with a modern feel. Super-comfortable beds, fun jacuzzi tub and the staff was very helpful and friendly. There is no question that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeiudonJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing