We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven compared to the other hotels in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at 3 different hotels and always kept comparing it back to Hotel Royal Corin because nothing could have beat it in terms of EVERYTHING!!!

Room was a huge. King size bed - spacious and extremely comfortable. All the sheets and pillowtops were clean, and by clean i mean stain free (as compared to others). The bathroom was made for a king and queen. It had 3 different types of showers (up on ceiling like waterfall, one in front of you, and a hand held hose). It comes with equipped with shampoo, body wash, and conditioner. The rooms are eco-friendly, meaning once you insert your room card into the wall, it turns on all the electricity and AC; you take out room card, everything turns off.

The breakfast was the best food we had compared to the 3 others we stayed in. It had various of food and fruits each day, unlike others. Their lunch/dinner menu was okay - reasonably priced. Typical food you would eat at any restaurants in NYC.

They had a HUGE pool with a wet bar, and 3-4 steamed pools. Swim towels were there for you to take unlike other resorts where you had to sign out for them and return. Free WIFI througout the hotel - able to connect with my Verizon phone. They also had 2 computers downstairs.

Only downside is the confinement of the hotel, but that was the same for all the 4-5 star resorts in La Fortuna. All other hotels in La Fortuna, you needed a taxi or a car to get into town. If you wanted to live smack in the middle of town, then go live in a hostel or a dumpy motel/inn. In addition, all the hotels are equipped with their own security gate and guard, which made you feel safe. But La Fortuna itself was safe overall.

The staff were pleasant. They responded to emails quickly when I was planning it a month before the actual trip. All the tours and activities, as well w\as the transportation, were arranged perfectly. They were able to set up taxis for us from the airport and back.

Altogether, it was beyond EXCELLENT. With clean rooms, excellent service, fantastic views of Arenal Volcano and the swimming pool at night, beautiful design, and great food, we would definitely book our next vacation back here again for sure (unlike the other resort we stayed at in Tamarindo).

Room Tip: The rooms to the both end of the hotels were quiet compared to rooms facing the swimming pool. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank went0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say that I have to agree to the excellent reviews on this website for this hotel. I wanted to go to the La Fortuna area with my family but wasn't sure about which hotel to go. I wanted to be at a nice, modern, relaxing hotel, with availability of the hot springs as well a good view of the Arenal Volcano.

When we arrived, Eric the bellboy, and German at the front desk were friendly, helpful and answered all the questions we had. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with large balconies facing the Arenal volcano. The room was modern, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. Bathrobes were available in our rooms. Wifi was down the day we arrived, but they had 4 laptops free of charge in the lobby area while they fixed the issue.

The pool area was spectacular, there are several pools and whirlpools with water taken from the hotsprings. To better explain this, there are several underground rivers that go throughout the hotel area, and that is where they capture them and bring them to the pool area. The water is not chemically treated, to the point that every day and a half, the pool area is closed during the evening and this water is drained and new water is captured.

The pool bar staff was friendly and helpful when asked about the area, as well as great cocktails served. Highly recommended. The Emperador restaurant is spectacular, dinner menu a la cart was spectacular and prices were reasonable. Cuts of meat were generous and their tasteful. For breakfast the buffet is very good including Gallo Pinto as well as generous amounts of fruits. The lava Bar on the 5th floor has a beautiful view (weather permitting) of the the Arenal Volcano.

The hotel was full when we checked in, and at no time we felt overwhelmed by the amount of people on the pool or restaurant area.

I would highly recommend it for families or couples who want to spend a good time relaxing and discovering La Fortuna area. I will for sure come back to this hotel this fall with other friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights. The rooms are very large with nice bathrooms and sizeable balconies. Very clean too. There are a couple of hot springs with a swim up bar in the back of the property. Service is friendly and curteous. The spa is reasonably priced and they were offering generous discounts on treatments during our stay.

The only major disadvantage is that the property is quite small and enclosed. There is nowhere to walk outside of the hotel. This makes one feel confined. Also, the entrance to the hotel is through an ugly car park - not the greatest first impression.

Overall though this is a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The staff is very pleasant & helpful in the recommendations for the food & bar in town. They also called cab for us few times (which didn't rip us off). But when we went to Tabacon Hot springs (Tabacon staff tried to rip us off on the cab fare). We stayed there for 5 nights & had breakfast every day @the hotel. The staff @the restaurant provided excellent service. We also had lunch at the restaurant downstairs & it was yummy food but it took a bit long for our food to get ready. So make sure you are not starving, or you will be agitated. Enjoyed hanging out by the open bar area in the water. Drinks are excellent. Relaxing & pampering is what you want, then this is the place to be. One of my girlfriends got a massage from there, & she had an excellent service & massage. Overrall, I would stay @Royal Corin again.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

What a treat. This place was clean, in a great location, had excellent respectful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSomeMFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel it strategically located in the Arenal city, right to the side of the volcano, you will get a great view of the mountain. Although service was fine, this hotel is not a 5-star hotel by any means. Amenities were good and clean, but I stayed at other local excellent hotels that cannot compare in terms of ambience. DO book the river rafting tour with the “wave” company at the hotel. This trip was AWESOME. I was already exhausted from all the prior activities from the trip and wasn’t as eager, especially given the level (3-4) and, boy, was this worthwhile; this was one hell of an adventure. You are in the hands of professionals so you don’t have to worry. The trip includes an awesome lunch with local food at a near by restaurant on the road in your way back. They take pics of you as you go down the river, so you get professional pics every rapid you go down on. We paid $25 for a CD with almost 100 pics they delivered by the end of the day to our hotel lobby. The volcano, well, we thought we would see lava or something, but in order to get that high up, you would have to break the law, meaning, all you get to see in a tour is the pick and some smoke from afar, so we didn’t bother paying for that. You may do the horseback riding, but we had limited time so we picked the river rafting, GREAT PICK!
If you don’t want to eat at the hotel, which actually has pretty good food, adventure yourself into the city about 10 minutes away and check out some restaurants. This is assuming you have a rental car. A GPS will take you directly to that hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Wow what a great place! From check in to out we were treated so well. We stayed 3 nights. The views were fantastic. I loved the shower so much I took pictures to refer back to when we remodel ours at home. Very comfy beds. Sleek, modern, squeaky clean, private and still a taste of Costa Rica. We ate in the hotel one night and it was really good. Breakfast was good every morning and the fruits fantastic. We had dinner in La Fortuna twice at the restaurants on either side of the Burger King. One was Italian and pretty good and the other was typical Costa Rican food, really good. The volcano was impressive, belching just smoke while we were there. The pools we looked over from our balcony were so beautiful. Everything was lush with hummingbirds fliting in and out, just a paradise. If you get up really early just before sunrise, look out the back over the valley and at first light you'll hear all the birds just come to life and very soon after the howler monkeys in the far distance. The Royal Corin gave us a taste of the country we came to see. I would go back and stay and stay!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, high enough to see over the trees but not under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyof5VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $257 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing